Date: July 10, 2012

Simpson Cup – Tea Tree Gully claims 3 titles in a row

2012 Premiers Tea Tree Gully Simpson Cup – Tea Tree Gully claims 3 titles in a row Tea Tree Gully has won its third successive Simpson Cup after narrowly defeating Kooyonga 4 matches to 3 in an absorbing final played at Royal Adelaide Golf Club. Inspired by stalwart Brett Crosby, who was playing his 124th and final Simpson Cup match, Tea Tree Gully proved too strong across the board, in a series of tight contests. For Tea Tree Gully, Rudi DuPlooy, Paul Wyllie, Greg Blewett and Chris Austin all won their respective matches, while Ryan White, Brett Crosby and Zak Fuller all went down by a solitary hole. In the low order match, DuPlooy, playing in his first final, proved too powerful for Jordan Bishop 5&3 scoring Tea Tree Gullies first point, before John Hayes hit back for Kooyonga, claiming match six,1up over Ryan White. The ever reliable Paul Wyllie nudged The Gullies back ahead with a 1up victory over Geoff Brennan, Brennan s first loss of the season before the match was again brought back to parity, courtesy of a 1up victory to Will Somerfield over Brett Crosby. At number three, Greg Blewett used all his big game experience to defeat Daniel Speirs 2&1 positioning Tea Tree Gully one match from victory. With Zak Fuller and Tim Baker progressing down the 4th (the 18th hole due to all matches starting from the 5th), Chris Austin had victory in sight, as he approached the stunning 3rd hole, 2 up over Charles Shaw. Playing safe down the right, opposed to Shaw who landed long and left, Austin played a low pitch shot attempting to run the ball from just off the fairway to front of green. Slightly miscuing his attempt, the door was left ajar for Shaw, however he chipped short of the mound guarding the green but then played a delicate lob wedge over the steep and narrow embankment, which glided past the hole. With Austin chipping to about 6 feet and then Shaw making his par putt, Austin fully aware that sinking his putt would claim the Simpson Cup, stood and delivered the knockout blow to halve the hole and win the match 2&1, securing the Simpson Cup for Tea Tree Gully with 4 matches. While the match was already decided for academic purposes the Baker v Fuller match progressed down the 19th with Baker eventually claiming victory to give Kooyonga its third contest. Tea Tree Gully now has four senior Pennant Title s 2010 – 2012 and 1988. Click here for the Simpson Cup events page