Date: April 15, 2009

Southern Cross team ready to fire

CLICK HERE FOR LIVESCORING The Australian team of Scott Arnold (NSW), Matt Jager (WA), Ryan McCarthy (TAS) and Brendan Smith (NSW) are in New Zealand and ready to fire at the 2009 Southern Cross Cup at Wairakei International Golf Course in Taupo, New Zealand which begins tomorrow. Arnold, fresh from being crowned the Srixon Australian Amateur Champion at Royal Queensland Golf Club in March, joins Jager, McCarthy and Smith in making their Southern Cross Cup debuts. Jager won the 2008 Federal Amateur in Canberra and has international experience with his win at last year s Jockey Club Rosario tournament in Argentina. McCarthy is the current Tasmanian Open and Amateur champion and played with team mate Smith in Australia s victory at the Trans-Tasman Cup earlier this year. Smith was runner up at this year s Lake Macquarie Amateur. The Australian team begin their campaign against South Africa before taking on Argentina on Friday and New Zealand on Saturday. The New Zealand team includes Ryan Fox who was a semi-finalist at the Srixon Australian Amateur Championships. The Southern Cross Cup is held every two years and takes the form of a series of contests between Argentina, Australia, New Zealand and South Africa.