Date: December 08, 2010

Spring Valley prepares for Vic Open

Visit the Vic Open webpage From 6-9 January 2011, Spring Valley Golf Club in Melbourne&aposs south east will host the Vic Open. In the 2010 event, Peter Senior, Jarrod Lyle, Matt Griffin and Scott Laycock were among leading names to compete. South Australia&aposs Jason Norris won the championship by two strokes from the ACT&aposs Chris Campbell. The Victorian Open Championship has a rich history linking back to the first Championship of Victoria played at Royal Melbourne in 1899. The first tournament named the Vic Open was held in 1957 at Riversdale Golf Club and was won by Ossie Pickworth. It was in the 70&aposs that the Vic Open leapt to prominence with a string of record sponsorships and record galleries. The tournament has continued to provide a pinnacle event for Victorian golf. Many of the great champions of Australian and international golf have won the Vic Open including Peter Thomson, Greg Norman and Robert Allenby as an amateur.