Date: May 15, 2016
Author: Olivia Wilson, Golf NSW

SRIXON Mid Amateur Championship Decided


Logan Toms (Moore Park/Woolgoolga)


First round leader Logan Toms (Woolgoolga/Moore Park) has taken out the 2016 Srixon Men’s NSW Mid Amateur Championship at Club Taree with an exceptional 54-hole total of two-under-par 208. Toms lead after a first round one-under-par 69 and fell a shot back from the lead after a second round two-over-par 72, but was able to close the event out with his best round of three-under-par 67 to win by a comfortable three shots in the end. Gavin Fitzgerald (Moruya) finished the event with his best round of one-under-par 69 in the final round to take out second place. Second round leader Daniel Nesbitt (Moore Park) took our third position with a 54-hole total of two-over-par 212.

In the nett competition, Warwick Boys (Moore Park) won convincingly with nett rounds of 73-69-65 for a total of 208 off a handicap of 9, to beat Taree local Matthew Walz who finished with a 54-hole nett total of 212 off a handicap of 1.

It was so surprise that Moore Park (Logan Toms, Daniel Nesbitt, Warwick Boys) took out the Club Teams Event by a massive 15 shots with a team total of 416, with their nearest rival Dunheved (Dillyn Burazin, Dean Neill, Jeffrey Barnes) having a score of 431.

For final scores from the event CLICK HERE.


Jan Crichton (Killara)


Killara’s Jan Crichton has taken out the 2016 Srixon Women’s NSW Mid Amateur Championship today at Club Taree. Crichton made a great comeback after being four shots back through the first round. Crichton finished with the round of the tournament, three-over-par 75 to take out the Championship by two shots from Moore Park’s Lucie Quilliam. In third place was 2014 winner Gemma Dooley (Moore Park/NSW) with a 36-hole total of 161. Jan is also lucky enough to have won the Srixon Ball Challenge in the Women’s Championship, which now entitles her to a year’s supply of Srixon Golf Balls.

In the nett, Ali Gatland (Monash) came out on top with a great 36-hole nett total of 151. The nett runner up was Colette Blacklock (Ryde-Parramatta) with 153 on a countback.

The Round 1 Nett winner was overnight leader, Sharon Nott (Dunedoo) with a great score of 72, while Katrina Skinner-Oysten (Maitland) took out the Round 2 Nett prize with 75.

The Moore Park team of Lucie Quilliam, Meg Thorley and Susan McNally took out the Club Teams event marginally from the Killara pairing with scores of 311 and 312 respectively.

For Final scores CLICK HERE.