Date: September 22, 2017
Author: Christian Puccini

Strong fields for SA Amateur Championship

A strong field of 102 players will contest the 2017 South Australian Men’s & Women’s Amateur Championship partnered by Host Plus.

The 36-holes of stroke play qualifying will be held on Monday 25 and Tuesday 26 September at Blackwood Golf Club in the Adelaide Hills.

A field of 73 players will contest the Men’s SA Medal which exceeded capacity, requiring a ballot.

The leading 32 qualifiers after 36 holes will continue on to contest the SA Amateur Championship Match Play rounds, also played at Blackwood Golf Club with the championship final being held on Friday 29 September.

This year’s Championship promises to be a tightly contested affair with 36 interstate players adding considerable depth to a field which features 42 players boasting a handicap of scratch or better.

Since the first SA Amateur was staged in 1900, only a handful of times has an interstater claimed the championship; Queenslander Blake Proverbs in 2016, Jordon Cooper (VIC) in 2013 and before then Don Sharp from NSW in 1971 and Bill Edgar from Victoria who won in 1946 and 48-49’.

Among the favourites for this year’s title is 19-year-old New South Welshman Blake Windred, who has steadily improved his game, since rising to prominence as the youngest player at 13 year old to compete in the NSW Open. Windred who is ranked 9th in the Men’s Australian Amateur rankings will be a strong contender.

Matthew Lisk from The Grange Golf Club off a handicap of plus 4, will be South Australia’s strongest hope, along with Jackson Kalz from Glenelg.

Others to watch are Jack Murdoch (VIC), Nathan Barbieri (NSW) and Billy Cawthorne from Royal Adelaide Golf Club who earlier this month finished 11th at the Mandurah Open Amateur. Jak Carter from Links Lay Bay who performed strongly during the Pennant season is another local to watch.

A field of 23 players will contest the Women’s Championship with 12 interstaters heading to Adelaide. The women’s field is wide open with Victorian and 2015 champion Stephanie Bunque the lowest marker off plus 2.5.

Grace Kim from NSW, the 2017 Australian Girls Amateur Champion is another player who should progress through to the final stages of the match play rounds.

Interstaters have won the past five SA Amateur Championships and this year with SA number one player Ella Adams heading to college in the United States, local hopes rest with Jin-young Yun from The Grange, along with Charley Jacobs from Glenelg Golf Club.

The women’s field contest the Medal rounds over 36 holes, before the leading 16 players progress through to the Amateur Championship match-play rounds at Blackwood Golf Club.

For all Championship draws and click here for the tournament event page on the Golf SA website.

About the Golf SA Amateur Championship

The SA Medal and Amateur is the pre-eminent individual championship for an amateur golfer in the State.

The Men’s Amateur Championship has an unbroken history dating back to the inception of the South Australian Golf Association (SAGA) in 1905.  There were two periods of recess (1914-1918 World War I & 1940-1945 World War II). Records indicate that the Amateur Championship was played from 1900-1904, although not under the auspice of SAGA. The name of the Amateur Champion is placed on the SAGA Honour Board.

The Women’s Amateur Championship dates back to 1902 when it was played as the Ladies’ State Championship. It was conducted under the auspices of SAGA from 1905 to 1929 when the South Australian Ladies Golf Union (SALGU) was formed as a separate entity. There were two periods of recess (1914-1918 World War I & 1940-1945 World War II).

In 2009, Golf SA combined the Men’s & Women’s Medal & Amateur Championships into one consolidated event. The Medal is a stroke event that leads to qualification for the Amateur – a match play final – where the winner is declared the South Australian Amateur Champion.

For a full list of previous Championship winners, click here for the tournament event page on the Golf SA website