Date: January 08, 2018
Author: Golf Victoria

Stuart Appleby Rookie Series grand finale

Some of Victoria’s best up and coming players contested today’s Stuart Appleby Rookie Series Final at the beautiful Spring Valley Golf Club under calm conditions. All players that competed today qualified in one of the many events throughout 2017 for the chance to hold the Rookie of the year title.

Adam Mao fired a sensational round of 35 today for one under-par on the back-nine to take home the under 9 boys title and todays lowest score. 6-year-old Jack Wilson was too good in the handicap section with a round 32, edging out Kirk Kryskow on a count-back.

Rookie specialist Sophie Mann was too strong in the under 9 girls with her round of 41 for the victory while Sydney Bayerle was equally impressive with her handicap round of 34 for the nett title.

Skana Sutherland continues to impress shooting 41 this morning to take home the under 12 title for the second consecutive year – a fantastic feat! Ainsley Pho came in with a solid 32 nett for top honours in the handicap section.

Carding a superb round of 36, Vincent Nguyen walked home with the Rookie of the Year honours in the under 12 boys by a single shot over Noah Paterson. Angus Mackintosh secured the handicap prize on a count-back with his tally of 31 from his 10 handicap.

Prevailing in the under 16 boys was Josh Marshall who warded off some stiff competition to card 38 on the back-nine. Morten Hafkamp backed up his nett win in last years final to once again walk away victorious following his round of 35.

The under 16 girls title went to Imogen Jones with a super 6 shot victory with her 9-hole tally of 42. Kataya Adkin joined the winners on the podium after claiming the nett section in the under 16 girls on 30.

The overall Future Stars ranking winners were announced with Phoenix Diaz taking home the boys section while Sophie Mann and Portia Hall held the girls trophy aloft. All players had stellar years with multiple victories thought 2017 to cement the yearlong ranking title to their names.

Click here for final results.