Date: July 10, 2008

The Australian Golf Media Awards: Be in it to win it

Now in their 9th year, the awards have noted sports journalist Mr Jim Webster OAM as its Chair with a panel made up by representatives from Golf Australia, the PGA of Australia, Australasian PGA Tour and the Australian Ladies Professional Golfers Inc. Presentations to the winners in the various categories have now become a centrepiece of the Australian Golf Writers Association annual dinner which this year will be held at the InterContinental Sydney on Saturday evening December 13th during the Australian Open Golf Championship. The awards open to all, will be presented for: Photojournalism – Best Photograph (Newspaper.) Photojournalism – Best Photograph (Magazine.) Television – Best Feature Story/Report. Electronic/Media (Internet) -Best Feature Story/Report. Electronic Media (Radio) Best Feature Story/Report Print – Best Feature Story (Newspaper). Print – Best Report (Newspaper). Print – Best Feature/Story (Magazine). Print – Best Feature/Story Amateur Golf. Print – Best Feature/Story or Column in a Provincial or Suburban Newspaper. Print – Best Feature/Story or report in a trade magazine. The President of the Australian Golf Writers Association Mr. Peter Stone said he was pleased that Australia s peak golfing bodies have once again shown their support for Australia s golf media by sponsoring the awards. The members of the AGWA are fully supportive of the Golf Media Awards that have become a highlight of the Australian Golf Writers Association annual dinner which is now an integral part of Australian Open golf week he said. For Further information please contact : Ms Jude Coen, Communications Manager PGA Tour of Australasia 61 2 9956 0012, 0419 425 406, or George Begg, Secretary Australian Golf Writers Association 61 3 9749 2481 – Mobile 0409 381 192. E-mail