Date: October 12, 2017
Author: Golf Australia

The Stonehaven Cup

The Australian Open is recognised as the fifth oldest continually run professional golf tournament in the world having been first held in 1904, hot on the heels of the Canadian and South African Opens, after only the British and American national championships previously.

But it was not until 1930 at The Metropolitan Golf Club in Melbourne that the Australian Open first had an official trophy.

In the final year of his tenure as Governor General of Australia, Baron Stonehaven presented the trophy to the champion, Sydney's Frank Eyre.

Born John Lawrence Baird before he was elevated to the British peerage, Stonehaven was a keen golfer and aviator, linking both passions during his time in Australia to have played many of our great courses.

The presentation effectively capped the end of his five-year term as Governor General before he returned to England.

But while Stonehaven died in 1941, aged 67, his name will live forever on the trophy that took his name.

The Stonehaven Cup has undoubtedly one of the greatest collections of world golf's finest names engraved upon it.

From Sarazen to Thomson, Nicklaus to Norman, Locke to Palmer and Ferrier to record-holding seven-time champion Gary Player, the Stonehaven Cup is effectively a who's who of world golf.

The annual champion has his name etched on the original Stonehaven Cup which then returns to the Golf Australia Museum; he also receives a gold medal and a replica Stonehaven Cup to hold for one year.