Date: November 25, 2015
Author: Golf Australia

TODAY: 100th Australian Open Champions� Commemorative Drive

A cavalcade of past champions spanning as far back as 1951 will be a highlight of this year’s Emirates Australian Open.

To commemorate the 100th edition of Australia’s oldest tournament – the fifth oldest in the world behind The Open, US Open, Canadian Open and South African Open – 19 past winners will be part of the Champions’ Commemorative Drive at The Australian Golf Club.

Champions from seven separate decades will be present at the ceremony, ranging from the legendary Peter Thomson (1951) all the way to defending champion and world No.1 Jordan Spieth.

Hosted by Channel 7 commentator and Open Championship hero Ian Baker-Finch, 19 past Australian Open champions will walk to the first tee with a MyGolf junior, tee off in pairs and be interviewed. Following the activity, they will pose for a commemorative photo.

The following champions are expected to take part in the ceremony:

Peter Thomson (1957, ’67, ’72)
Frank Phillips (1957, ’61)
David Graham (1977)
Jack Newton (1979)
Bob Shearer (1982)
Peter Fowler (1983)
Rodger Davis (1986)
Peter Senior (1989, 2012)
Robert Allenby (1994, 2005)
Lee Westwood (1997)
Greg Chalmers (1998, 2011)
Stuart Appleby (2001)
Stephen Allan (2002)
Peter Lonard (2003, ’04)
John Senden (2006)
Craig Parry (2007)
Adam Scott (2009)
Geoff Ogilvy 2010)
Jordan Spieth (2014)

A selection of past champions will be involved in a press conference following the ceremony, at approximately 1.30pm, in the media centre.

When: Wednesday 25 November 2015, 12pm for 12:15pm start (ends 12.45pm)

Where: 1st tee, The Australian Golf Club, 53 Bannerman Crescent, Rosebery, NSW