Date: June 23, 2013
Author: Golf NSW

Toomey & Thiele win NSW Aboriginal Golf Championship

Updated: 23 June 2013 Dubbo&aposs Errol Toomey and Dunheved&aposs Dea Thiele won the top prize at the NSW Aboriginal Golf Championships. The Championship took place at Hunter Valley Golf, NSW from 20-21 June. Thirty-one keen starters took the field. Professor Bob Morgan, Chair of the NSW Aboriginal Golf Incorporated, thanked Golf NSW for their support during the two days of the Championship. All who attended had a great time and Bob hopes to build on the event. He said the biggest struggle was for players to get time off from work, stating “we hope that we can overcome the issue of player work commitments by negotiating a Saturday and Sunday time slot for next year.” Bob is already planning the 2014 event to continue to develop the championships and to encourage more participants. It is anticipated the 2014 event will take place at the Hunter region in February, to be confirmed.
Congratulations to the following winners: 2013 Champion – Errol Toomey (Handicap 3 Dubbo GC) 2013 Women – Dea Thiele ( Handicap 28 Dunheved GC) B Grade – Chris Morgan ( Handicap 17 Braidwood) C Grade – Frank Vincent ( Handicap 30 Dunheved GC) Junior – Lewis Stanley ( Handicap 16 Wellington) Senior (60+) – Bob Morgan ( Handicap 6 Walgett GC) The NSW Aboriginal Golf Championship is a 36 hole stroke event open to Male and Female amateur golfers with a current Australian Handicap. Scratch and Handicap events took place in three Grades as well as an overall Veterans (60 years and over), Ladies and Juniors Divisions (12-18 years). A Grade up to 12 handicap B Grade 13 to 19 C Grade 20 + Click on the Photo Gallery link below to view photos.