Date: March 06, 2009

Trans-Tasman Day 2: Australia sprints home

Australia produced a superb second day to comprehensively win the Trans-Tasman Cup in breezy conditions at Royal Canberra Golf Club The Australian squads stamped their authority on the championship with a string of excellent results in the foursomes and singles matches to win the overall championship for the third consecutive year. The boys team of Daniel Nisbet (QLD), Luke Humphries (NSW), Bryden Macpherson (VIC) and Cameron Smith (QLD) made a stellar start to the day, winning both matches in their foursomes pairings. Nisbet s undefeated run came to an end at the hands of Ben Campbell while wins for Macpherson and Humphries made the tie safe. The girls team were again in devastating form. Led by Justine Lee (NSW) Whitney Hillier (WA), Grace Lennon (VIC) and Jacki Marshall (QLD), the team won both foursomes matches with Hillier and Lee victorious over Hayley Clinning and Erin Hawe 4&3. The girls dominance continued in the singles matches with Australia winning every match. Whitney Hillier and Justine Lee remained undefeated for the entire championship. The men’s team of Brendan Smith (NSW), Matt Jager (WA), Luke Bleumink (VIC) and Ryan McCarthy (TAS) had to share the morning s matches with a win for Jager and Smith while Bluemink and McCarthy were beaten 5&4 by Daniel Pearce and Sean Riordan. Jager, Bleumink and McCarthy won their singles matches while Brendan Smith fell to Daniel Pearce 1up. The women’s team of Rebecca Flood (NSW), Stacey Keating (VIC), Ashlee Dewhurst (TAS) and Bree Arthur (QLD) matched the men’s foursomes results with a win and loss but the competition was stiffer in the singles. In-form Zoe-Beth Brake defeated Stacey Keating 3&2 while Rebecca Flood beat Emily Perry. Ashlee Dewhurst fell to undefeated New Zealander Larissa Eruera and Bree Arthur accounted for Caroline Bon. The result was enough for the New Zealand s women’s team to snatch the tie by seven matches to five. (Overall) AUS 33 def NZ 15 Australia retains Trans-Tasman Cup. MEN S: AUS def NZ (8-4) Australia wins Sloan Morpeth Trophy WOMEN S: NZ def AUS (7-5) New Zealand wins Tasman Cup BOYS : AUS def NZ (9-3) Australia wins Clare Higson Trophy GIRLS : AUS def NZ (11-1) Australia wins Junior Tasman Cup Click here for a summary of the Final Results Click here for the Men&aposs Results for the Sloan Morpeth TrophyAustralia won 8 matches to 4 matches Click here for the Women&aposs Results for the Tasman CupNew Zealand won 7 matches to 5 matches Click here for Boys&apos Results for the Clare Higson TrophyAustralia won 9 matches to 3 matches Click here for the Girls&apos Results for the Junior Tasman CupAustralia won 11 matches to 1 match