Date: January 22, 2009

Trans-Tasman teams unveiled

Golf Australia today announced the four teams which will compete in the Trans-Tasman Cup to be held at Royal Canberra Golf Club from March 1-4. The men’s team is Luke Bleumink (VIC), Matt Jager (WA), Ryan McCarthy (TAS) and Brendan Smith (NSW). The women’s team is Bree Arthur (QLD), Ashlee Dewhurst (TAS), Rebecca Flood (NSW) and Stacey Keating (VIC). The boys team is: Luke Humphries (NSW), Bryden Macpherson (VIC), Daniel Nisbet (QLD) and Cameron Smith (QLD). The girls team is: Whitney Hillier (WA), Justine Lee (NSW), Grace Lennon (VIC) and Jacki Marshall (QLD). Golf Australia/AIS High Performance Program Manager Peter Knight said he was enthusiastic about the number of players representing their country for the first time. It is exciting to note that half of this team will be representing Australia for the first time, highlighting the depth of talent we currently have with our young players, Knight said. I am certain that this group will prepare and perform well in our annual match against New Zealand, who always provide strong competition . The Australian team were victorious in the 2008 Trans-Tasman Cup at Royal Wellington Golf Club.