Date: May 17, 2018
Author: Golf Queensland

Triumph for local hero Hasson

Mackay local Sheree Hasson secured the 2018 Queensland Women’s Country Championship yesterday, winning the tournament for the second time in four years.

Hosted by Mackay Golf Club and Pioneer Valley Golf Club and supported by the Mackay Regional Council, the three-day tournament proved both entertaining and difficult for players. Gusty conditions made it hard going at times for the ladies but the well-presented courses and friendly hospitality made the tournament a winner.

Over 250 ladies from 43 Queensland clubs stretching from Townsville to the Gold Coast, and out to Chinchilla, ventured to the North Queensland district. The Foursomes championship kick started the week on Monday and concluded with two days of the individual championship on alternating courses on Tuesday and Wednesday.

Pioneer Valley hosted divisions 1 and 2 on Tuesday with 2015 champion Hasson firing an opening three-over 76, followed closely by multiple-time Indigenous champion Kimberley Crawley a further shot back.

Utilising her home ground advantage, Hasson got off to a quick start on day two making birdies on holes 3, 8 and 9. Crawley was unable to find the same form from day one, her second round 79 ruling her out of contention.

A final three-over par 74 was enough for Hasson to secure her second Women’s Country victory by a convincing six-shots.

"After just returning back to the game I wasn’t really sure what to expect so to come away with a win was really nice. To do it in my home town just makes it that much more memorable," Hasson said after her round. 

Gladstone’s Jo-Anne Petersen claimed victory in division 2 with consistent rounds of 92-89 to edge out Mt Coolum’s Jenny Smallcombe by two shots.

Division 3 and 4 was played in stableford format with Sarina’s Beverley Dunn returning rounds of 36-40 points which was enough to claim victory in division 3 over Tammy McCanna of Rowes Bay by three points. Christina Esselink of City GC cruised to success in division 4 with rounds of 36-42 points, for a five-point buffer over Sarina’s Sandy Lockhard.

The commanding duo of Sheree Hasson and Margarethe Harbo (Burleigh) successfully defended their Foursomes title earning the silverware on Monday at Mackay. The pair blistered around the course in 80 leaving the rest of the division 1 in awe, with the Prosperine duo of Trish McNeill and Melanie Patullo next best with 83.

The Gladstone duo of Denise Busteed and Jo-Anne Petersen won division 2 gross with 92. Bowen’s Patricia Sellen and Elona Lynch claimed honours in the division 3 recording a round of 98 at Pioneer Valley, with home course locals Barb Stedman and Cheryl Scown placing second. The Sarina pairing of Alex Donovan and Sudie Blinco took out the division 4 gross with 106.

Golf Queensland would like to offer a sincere thanks to the Mackay Regional Council and Mayor Greg Williamson for their generous support and fantastic hospitality of the championship. Both Mackay Golf Club and Pioneer Valley Golf Club were presented in terrific conditions, with praise going to the ground staff, catering, committees, and all volunteers involved.

The 2019 Queensland Women’s Country Championship will head to Bundaberg Golf Club and Bargara Golf Club, with many ladies already planning their next voyage.

Full results:
Division 1

36 Hole Gross Winner: Sheree Hasson (Mackay)
36 Hole Gross Runner-Up: Kimberley Crawley (Maroochy River)
36 Hole Nett Winner: Jean Penridge (Mackay)
36 Hole Nett Runner-Up: Raelee Marxsen (Bargara)
36 Hole Nett Third: Beverley Hockings (Townsville)
18 Hole Gross Round 1: Stephanie Goetgebuer (Sanctuary Cove)
18 Hole Nett Round 1: Carol Walsh (Townsville)
18 Hole Gross Round 2: Olivia Dolan (Noosa)
18 Hole Nett Round 2: Anne Morpeth (Coolangatta-Tweed)

Division 2
36 Hole Gross Winner: Jo-Ann Peterson (Galdstone)
36 Hole Gross Runner-Up: Jenny Smallcombe (Mt Coolum)
36 Hole Nett Winner: Pamela Scott-Morris (Mackay)
36 Hole Nett Runner-Up: Michelle Schneider (Arundel)
36 Hole Nett Third: Gillian McCallum (Mackay)
18 Hole Gross Round 1: Cheryl Scown (Pioneer Valley)
18 Hole Nett Round 1: Rosemary Veitch (Rowes Bay)
18 Hole Gross Round 2: Anne Fenton (Gladstone)
18 Hole Nett Round 2: Patricia Hamilton (Mackay)

Division 3
36 Hole Nett Winner: Beverley Dunn (Sarina)
36 Hole Nett Runner-Up: Tammy McCanna (Rowes Bay)
36 Hole Nett Third: Lynette Townson (Rowes Bay)
36 Hole Nett Fourth: Angela Sharpe (Hermit Park Townsville)
36 Hole Nett Fifth: Elaine Stewart (Yeppoon)
18 Hole Nett Round 1: Margaret Logan (Half Moon Bay)
18 Hole Nett Round 2: Karen Allen (Gympie)

Division 4
36 Hole Nett Winner: Christina Esselink (City)
36 Hole Nett Runner-Up: Sandy Lockhard (Sarina)
36 Hole Nett Third: Jodi Manning (Mackay)
36 Hole Nett Fourth: Ella Tancred (Black Springs)
36 Hole Nett Fifth: Lavinia Hill (Cooroy)
18 Hole Nett Round 1: Diane Fitzpatrick (Mackay)
18 Hole Nett Round 2: Merilyn Fletcher (Calliope)

Foursomes – Div 1
Gross Winner: Sheree HASSON and Margrethe HARBO (Mackay / Burleigh)
Gross Runner-Up: Trish MCNEILL and Melanie PATULLO (Proserpine)
Nett Winner: Sue ROWLINSON and Merise RYAN (Mackay)
Nett Runner-Up: Paula REES and Jean PENRIDGE (Mackay)

Foursomes – Div 2
Gross Winner: Denise BUSTEED and Jo-anne PETERSEN (Gladstone)
Gross Runner-Up: Jane BRAGG and Brenda PHILLIPS (Calliope / Rowes Bay)
Nett Winner: Pamela May SCOTT-MORRIS and Janet WOODHEAD (Mackay)
Nett Runner-Up: Laura BURTON and Karen FLINTOFF (Bargara / Bundaberg)

Foursomes – Div 3
Gross Winner: Patricia SELLEN and Elona LYNCH (Bowen)
Gross Runner-Up: Barb STEDMAN and Cheryl SCOWN (Pioneer Valley)
Nett Winner: Kay BROWN and Pam ROBBIE (Southport)
Nett Runner-Up: Lisa BUCHHOLZ and Debbie WILSON (Yeppoon)

Foursomes – Div 4
Gross Winner: Alex DONOVAN and Sudie BLINCO (Sarina)
Gross Runner-Up: Pamela MALONE and Jackie HART (Rowes Bay / North Lakes)
Nett Winner: Karen CHRISTENSEN and Ann PHELAN (Ayr)
Nett Runner-Up: Jennifer READ and Robyn FUNG (Burleigh / Surfers Paradise)