Date: December 01, 2010

Ulverstone wins Secondary Schools title

FINAL RESULTS Ulverstone High School from Tasmania has won the 2010 Australian Secondary Schools Teams Championship played at The Australian Golf Club. The team of Alex Pearce, Ben Lewtas and Dominic Wing recorded a three stroke victory over Shoalhaven High School from New South Wales. The Chairman of Golf Australia, Anne Lenagan, was on hand to present the Trophy, and it was the first time the school has won the Championship in the event s 22 year history. Shoalhaven High School took one victory from the event with Jack Dunnett taking out the individual award with scores of 36 and 41 for a total of 77 points from Ben Lewtas with a total of 76 points. With each State represented in the National Final by a team of three players, the event is contested over 36-holes Stableford, with the leading two scores to count each day as the team score. The consistency and combination of the players from Ulverstone High School team proved too strong in the end. In a first for the event, prior to play on the first round, the players were treated to a tour of The Lakes Golf Club, the venue for the Australian Open in two days time. Trevor Herden, the Open s Tournament Director, took the players through the media centre and the television compound, and also explained various other aspects that go with conducting a major tournament. It was a chance for the players to get up close and personal with major championship behind the scene activities. The 2010 Australian Secondary Schools Teams Championship saw 177 teams from across Australia originally contest the event in various State Finals. The revised format in 2010, which focused on participation, proved successful, with this being the largest number of teams competing in the event since 2005.