Date: December 12, 2012
Author: Golf Australia

Under a week to go for Australian Amateur entries

Entries for the Australian Men’sand Women’s Amateur Championships close in six days time, on Tuesday 18 December. World Number 1 Lydia Ko will lead the international contingent, along with four-time US Mid Amateur Champion Meghan Stasi. International players from Japan, England, Scotland, New Zealand, Japan, Germany and Korea will also head Down Under for the Championship. Australia s National Squad Members Minjee Lee, Su Hyun Oh, Cameron Smith, Brett Drewitt, Nathan Holman, Ricky Kato and Anthony Murdaca will be out to ensure the trophies remain on Australian soil after both were taken off shore in 2012. The 2013 Championships will be played on Melbourne s sandbelt at Commonwealth and Woodlands Golf Clubs from 15-20 January. Players will once again contest 36-holes stroke play with the leading 64 men and 32 women qualifying for elimination match play. Both Championships date back to 1894 and both winners receive an exemption into their respective Australian Open. Entries close at 5.00 pm AEDT on 18 December. The handicap limit is 1.4 for men and 5.4 for women.