Date: October 22, 2018
Author: Golf Australia

Vic country team takes title

The Victorian Country team defeated the SA Country team in its annual match at Mt Gambier Golf Club on the weekend.

The team of Caleb Bovalina (Tocumwal), Tim Coffey (Traralgon), David Dorning (The National), Shane Grover (Nhill), Brett Kellow (Mooroopna), Matt Lever (The National), Caleb Perry (Warrnambool) and Matt Walkenhorst (Hamilton) squared the first day’s morning singles matches, and after the afternoon fourball matches took a 4 ½ to 3 ½ lead.

With the Victorian team not having won the event for the previous two years, they were keen to return the trophy to Victoria. The match went down to the wire, and with the singles matches squared at four a piece, it was just enough to secure the trophy by a solitary point.

To demonstrate the closeness of the match, Tim Coffey was the only undefeated player for Victoria, while South Australia’s Darren Bilney and Nathan Ramsey were undefeated for South Australia.

For a full list of results click here.