Date: May 02, 2014

Vics win thrilling final in Canberra to claim Interstate Series

In what was a thrilling final contest at Federal Golf Club in Canberra, the Victorian Men’s State Team have claimed the Golf Australia Interstate Series crown with a 4.5 – 3.5 victory over New South Wales today.

The Vics went undefeated in the preliminary rounds including a 5-2 win over N.S.W. on Tuesday morning. Over the five rounds the team boasted a match record of 21 wins, 8 halves and 6 losses with Tom Power Horan the only Vic without a loss over his three rounds of action.

Despite N.S.W. losing two preliminary round matches, they finished in outright second over South Australia and Queensland to earn the right to challenge for the title.

All eight competitors from both teams competed in the final which commenced at 8:30am this morning. It was an enthralling contest between the two states with Andrew Schonewille playing at No.8 notching up the first match victory of the day 3&2. Neither team could break away from its opponent as the middle matches were like a tug-of-war.

With the No.1 and No.2 matches between Todd Sinnott (1) v. Cameron Davis (1) and Ryan Ruffels (2) v. Jordan Zunic all squared with just a few holes remaining, the Vics sat on a slim 3.5 – 2.5 lead as the title was still heavily in the balance. Zunic would go on to win 1up over Ruffles meaning Sinnott had to win or half his match for the Vics to be victorious. A half would have seen a 4-4 tie and resulted in a Vics win due to a higher preliminary round ladder position but Sinnott was not content with a half, winning the 17th to go 1up and holding that advantage for a match win on the 18th.

It’s the first time since 2009 the Vic Men have been crowned Champions. The title comes off the back of last month’s Junior Boys Interstate Series title and Ryan Ruffels individual amateur title, an accomplishment that hadn’t been achieved since 1991.

John Anderson, High Performance Manager at Golf Victoria said of the win, “It’s never easy being one of the favourites but the guys were very focused on their goal this week. New South Wales provided a big challenge in the final but full credit to our team that handled the pressure thrown at them.

“It was a superb win by the team which is truly deserved. The hard work and dedication from not only the players but GV head coach Marty Joyce, team manager Brian Lasky and GV service providers. The last time we won the Victorian Men’s Interstate Series was in 2009 and it’s fantastic to see the team back on top.”

Victorian Team
Todd Sinnott (Metropolitan G.C) Results: 4 wins, 1 half, 1 loss
Ryan Ruffels (Victoria G.C) Results: 3 wins, 1 half, 2 losses
Geoff Drakeford (Commonwealth G.C) Results: 3 wins, 2 halves, 1 loss
Lucas Herbert (Commonwealth G.C) Results: 4 wins, 2 losses
Zach Murray (Commonwealth G.C) Results: 3 wins, 2 halves, 1 loss
Ben Eccles (Victoria G.C) Results: 3 wins, 1 half, 2 losses
Tom Power Horan (Royal Melbourne G.C) Results: 3 wins, 1 half
Andrew Schonewille (Yarra Yarra G.C.) Results: 2 wins, 1 half
Coach: Marty Joyce
Manager: Brian Lasky

After winning the title last year, the Victorian Women didn’t get off to the start they were looking for, losing both of their contests on day one before bouncing back to win the next three straight. At 3-2, the Vics finished fourth on the ladder and were beaten by Queensland this morning 3-2 in a consolation game for third. Su-Hyun Oh went undefeated for the Vics including a win over World No.1 Amateur and current Oates Vic Open Champion Minjee Lee.