Date: March 26, 2018
Author: Elliot Raiter, Golf WA

WA names powerful teams

West Australian Amateur champions Abbie Teasdale and Kiran Day have double reason to celebrate this week after being selected in the men’s and women’s state teams for the upcoming Interstate Series.

A powerful men’s team has been named headlined by the inclusion of leading Australian Amateur Min Woo Lee (Royal Fremantle).

WA Amateur champion Day will be full of confidence ahead of the series, with the Cottesloe member completing a memorable week at the Western Australian Golf Club.

Connor Fewkes (Goldfields) and Josh Greer (Joondalup) will makes their debut in the Interstate side, with Greer returning from the United States where he played in the Major Champions Invitational.

WA Amateur semi-finalist Ben Ferguson will represent the black and gold once again, while Haydn Barron (WAGC) and Fred Lee (Royal Perth) will be crucial to the success of the side.

Cooper Geddes (Mandurah) is the other inclusion with the Mandurah product set to play in his second straight Interstate Series.

WA Amateur finalists Abbie Teasdale (Royal Fremantle) and Yeah-Jin Lee (Royal Perth) will headline the women’s side for the 2018 Interstate Series, with a number of talented players returning to represent their state.

Lee will make her debut for the Sandgropers capping off a stellar week for the 15-year-old, while semi-finalist Kirsten Rudgeley will again be the mainstay of the side.

Maddison Hinson-Tolchard has been named despite missing the WA Amateur last week, with Kathryn Norris becoming a regular in the team.

Georgia Shears will look to continue her strong start to 2018 after a semi-final berth at the WA Amateur, with the youngster again named in the side.

The Interstate Series will take place in South Australia at The Grange (men) and Glenelg (women), with the competition beginning on 8 May.

Western Australia will be attempting to recapture the title last won in 2014 by the women, with that team including current LPGA Tour members Hannah Green and Minjee Lee.

The men’s hoodoo stretches far longer with the male contingent having last won the Interstate Series in 1999, with Brett Rumford and Scott Strange leading the charge at Mount Lawley Golf Club.

Both sides preparations will be underlined by the annual PGA/ALPG v State Team clash on April 6 at Royal Perth Golf Club.

Given the success of the PGA v men’s state team last year, the women have been introduced into the exciting fixture, with fans able to get up close and personal with some of Australia’s best golfers for free.

Both sides will be put to the test against star studded line-ups filled with plenty of experience, with the PGA taking the fixture last year 6.5-5.5.

Men’s team: Min Woo Lee (Royal Fremantle), Haydn Barron (WAGC), Ben Ferguson (The Vines), Kiran Day (Cottesloe), Cooper Geddes (Mandurah), Connor Fewkes (Goldfields), Fed Lee (Royal Perth) Josh Greer (Joondalup),

Women’s team: Kirsten Rudgeley (Wanneroo), Maddison Hinson-Tolchard (Gosnells), Abbie Teasdale (Royal Fremantle), Yeah-Jin Lee (Royal Perth), Kathryn Norris (Mandurah), Georgia Shears (Wanneroo).