Warning: date_format() expects parameter 1 to be DateTimeInterface, bool given in /home/archiveg/public_html/wp-content/themes/golf/custom_pages/content-post.php on line 18

What is the WATC?

The World Amateur Team Championships was founded in 1958 and is a biennial event run by the International Golf Federation in conjunction with the host nation&aposs governing body of golf. Over 100 men&aposs and women&aposs teams come from all over the world to compete for the Eisenhower Trophy (men) and the Espirito Santo Trophy (women) in one of three different zones: Asia/Pacific, European/African and American. The IGF is the recognised international federation for golf for the International Olympic Committee and was founded to encourage the international development of the game and to employ golf as a vehicle to foster friendship and sportsmanship. The World Amateur Team Championships is just one of the means employed to achieve this goal. Introduced with US President Dwight D. Eisenhower&aposs stamp of approval, the inaugural tournament was held on The Old Course at St Andrews in 1958. Half a century later, the Championships are still going strong and will return to Australia for just the second time and the first since 1968.