Date: September 07, 2017
Author: Golf Victoria

Whelan scrapes through at Wedderburn

Martina Whelan has claimed the 2017 Trimax Victorian Women’s Sand Greens Championship title.

The Grampians member held on to the number one overnight position to take home her first state Sand Greens title. Celebrating her birthday with a solid round of 75 yesterday, Whelan closed with a 78 today for a 36-hole total of 153 to win by a mere shot over Helen Pascoe. The dual Sand Greens champion from Buninyong posted a pair of 77s to finish on 154, swapping positions with Whelan who was runner-up to Pascoe back in 2013 at Elmore. A further two shots back was another dual champion Mary-Anne Davis (Murray Downs) on 156.

In B-grade, it was Sue Amos from Pyramid Hill claiming the 36-hole gross victory on a pair of 85s for 170 while the C-grade trophy went to Cheryl Trotman from Balmoral winning on a count-back tied on 181 with Fleur Finlayson of Serviceton.

Whelan’s solid performance also earnt her the A-grade nett title, raking in a 36-hole score of nett 137 off a handicap of 8 which was one better than runner-up Deborah Bish of Axedale (h’cap 15) on 138. Fellow Grampians member Sue Morse took out B-grade with a score of 133 which was aided by a nett 65 today. The 22-marker finished three shots clear of Amos (h’cap 17) on nett 136.In C-grade, Serviceton’s Fleur Finlayson (h’cap 24) held onto her impressive round 1 lead, finishing a mere shot ahead of Marcia Macgugan (h’cap 29) of the Grampians who closed the gap today with a nett 66.

Overwhelming praise resonated in the packed clubhouse during the afternoon presentation speeches, which is a credit to the outstanding preparation and hospitality provided by the Wedderburn Golf Club. The support from naming rights sponsor Trimax and a raft of other local sponsors was also well received and greatly appreciated.

The club will open their doors again tomorrow for a social 4BBB competition before the Men’s championship kicks off at midday on Saturday.

Click here for full results, photos and trophies winners.