Date: October 30, 2009

Whitford elected Chair of Golf South Australia

Chris Whitford was elected as the Chair of Golf SA at the new Board s initial meeting on Thursday 29th October 2009. Chris brings a wealth of experience to the role including board membership of the South Australian Golf Association Inc and most recently the Interim Board of Golf SA Inc. He also holds a position as a National Selector to Golf Australia and has managed a number of representative teams, most recently the Australian Junior World Cup Team to Japan in 2007. As a former State level golfer who captained SA, Chris has a strong interest in the area of high performance and is keen to ensure that Golf SA establishes a credible High Performance Program. It is essential for the growth of the game that we have a high performance program that provides the opportunities and meets the aspirations of the next generations of golfers in this State. Equally he is concerned about the grass roots level of golf particularly increasing club membership and maintaining a strong focus on regional golf. Our strategic planning has identified a number of key issues such as the environment, access to water, the assessment of capital value on golf clubs that impacts on Council rates that need the Association s commitment. Chris is joined on the Board by Jenny Butcher (South Lakes GC), Bob Crosby (Tea Tree Gully GC), Bill Klaebe (Clare GC), David Manning (Echunga GC), Deb Miller (The Grange GC) and Gordon Scott (Mt Osmond GC).