Date: September 02, 2011

Winners all round at National School Championships

The 2011 National School Golf Championship was held over the week 28th August to 2nd September and were played in Adelaide using Tea Tree Gully, Murray Bridge, Flagstaff Hill and The Grange Golf Courses. The competing states were ACT, NSW, QLD, SA, VIC and WA. Thirty six holes of stroke play was played on Tuesday, at Tea Tree Gully Golf Club, and both individual and teams champions were decided. Match play was played in an interstate format for the rest of the week. The girls team stroke play was won by Queensland with a score of 611 and New South were runners-up with a score of 622. New South Wales won the boys event with a score of 570 and Queensland were runners-up with a score of 580. Jessica Park (Queensland) won the girls individual with a total of 138 setting a course record 67 in her second round. This is the third consecutive year that Jessica has won this event. The runner up was Annie Choi (Queensland) with a score of 148. Ricky Kato (New South Wales) with a score of 138 won the boys individual event, for the second year in a row, from Kade Mc Bride (Queensland) and James Bannan (Victoria)with scores of 141. The highlight of the stroke round was a hole in one by Cameron Davis (New South Wales) on the par three 202 metre third hole. The teams match play was won by New South Wales in both the boys and girls sections and they thererfore won the Performance Golf Shield for the second year. Queensland was runner-up in the girls event and South Australia in the boys event.