Date: September 17, 2010

Winners are grinners – Australian Interstate Series

RESULTS: Final Results – Colts Final Results – Men Final Results – Women Australian Men’sInterstate Teams Matches, Oxley Golf Club Winners: Queensland Queensland completed a superb week of golf and used their home state advantage to maximum effect to win the Australian Men’sInterstate Teams Matches at Oxley Golf Club. The home side finished with a 4 match lead over Victoria in second place. Queensland lost narrowly 6-5 to Western Australia on the final day but had enough points on the leaderboard to hold top spot. Marika Batibasaga and Brett Rankin completed the week undefeated in singles to help Queensland to victory. Rankin was under par in every singles match. Victoria defeated South Australia on the final day 6 to 4 to claim second place. Daniel Beckmann and Lachlan Cain were undefeated for Victoria. New South Wales defeated Tasmania 8 to 2 to finish in third place seven matches and 1 contest behind the Victorians on the leaderboard. Jake Higginbottom led the way for NSW, staying undefeated for the week. Western Australia finished in fourth place following their defeat of Queensland. South Australia and Tasmania complete the leaderboard in fifth and sixth place respectively. Australian Women’s Interstate Teams Matches for the Gladys Hay Cup, McLeod Country Golf Club Joint winners: Queensland & Victoria For the first time in the championship s history, Queensland and Victoria are the joint winners of the Australian Women’s Interstate Teams Matches for the Gladys Hay Memorial Cup at McLeod Country Golf Club. Queensland last won the title in 2007 in Victoria while the Victorians broke a 14 year drought since they last won in South Australia. Breanna Elliott (Victoria) and Ashley Ona (Queensland) were undefeated in singles to help both states to the top of the leaderboard. Western Australia finished in third place despite winning more matches than the winners. Contests are counted before matches. Their 4-4 draw with Queensland brought Victoria into the picture. New South Wales, led by the undefeated Carly Beck, finished in fourth place following their commanding 7-1 win over Tasmania. South Australia finished in fifth place while Tasmania finished in sixth. Australian Colts Interstate Teams Matches, Wynnum Golf Club Winners: Victoria Victoria has won the Australian Colts Interstate Teams Matches for the second consecutive year after a week of excellent performances at Wynnum Golf Club. Leading overnight, the Victorians defeated South Australia 7-1 to complete their championship victory with Victorians Todd Sinnot and Ryan Woodward undefeated in singles for the series. Victoria has now won the Colts championship six times since it began in 1993. Queensland finished in second place after defeating Western Australia 6-2. Queenslander Cameron Powell went through the series undefeated. New South Wales finished in third place despite a narrow 4 to 3 1/2 loss to Tasmania on the final day as Luke Humphries (NSW) completed the singles undefeated. Tasmania moved in fourth place three matches ahead of Western Australia in fifth. South Australia finished in sixth place.