Date: January 22, 2014
Author: Christian Puccini / Golf SA

Winners – Cudmore-Cheney Girls & SA Boys vs Victoria

The victorious South Australian Team 20th – 21st January 2014 Played at Horsham Golf Club, Victoria Cudmore-Cheney Junior Girls Event & SA Junior Boy&aposs vs Victoria Competition Structure Girls Round 1 Audrey McLaren Trophy – (Monday am) Round 2 Cudmore/Cheney Trophy – Foursomes Match Play (Monday pm) Round 3 Cudmore/ Cheney Trophy – Individual Match Play (Tuesday am) Boys 54 Hole Dunhill Cup format. Stroke play (36 holes Mon / 18 holes Tues), with the player having the lowest gross score over 18 holes of a match against the opposing state player being the winner of that game for his respective State. Rounds played at the same time as the girls. _______ South Australia&aposs junior representatives have started 2014 in fine style, defeating Victoria in the annual Boy&aposs Border Challenge and Girl&aposs Cudmore Cheney Challenge. Played at the Horsham Golf Club in Country Victoria, the SA girls side defeated Victoria with a 6.5 – 2.5 victory in the Girls Challenge, the same score line as last year, while in a close contest the combined Boy&aposs Metropolitan and Country side defeated the Victorian s 19 matches v 17 matches. The 12 member Boys s Team featured 6 State Junior Development players selected from SA s 22 Metropolitan Clubs who played against the Vic Metro outfit, and 6 Boys from the 127 SA Country Clubs who competed against their Victorian equivalents. Player handicaps ranged from scratch (Billy Cawthorne and Sam Burton) to 5 (Travis Miller), with the age of the players ranging from 14yrs – 17yrs. The SA Girls Cudmore Cheney side, featured 6 players from Metro and Country areas, with handicaps ranging from 9 (Emma Sutton) to 17 (Morgan Pfitzner). The player s age ranged from 12yrs – 17yrs. Girls Competition – On Day 1, the girls competed in the Audrey McLaren Trophy, an 18 hole individual stableford event, with Alicia Smith (HCap 10) from The Grange, the best of the 12 players, claiming victory for SA with 40 points. In the afternoon s Cudmore Cheney Challenge, South Australia held an early advantage after the Foursomes Matchplay, winning 3 games to nil. In the singles matches on Day 2, SA claimed three of the six matches courtesy of hard fought victories to Alicia Smith, Zoe Taylor and Morgan Pfitzner. Whilst Emma Sutton halved her match with Kallista Do. Since the inception of the Cudmore Cheney Challenge in 1967, Victoria has recorded 21 victories. With this win SA has now squared the ledger by recording its 21 victory. There have been 6 ties.
Alicia Smith – Audrey McLaren Trophy Winner Boys Competition – Played over a 54 Hole Dunhill Cup format, SA Metro overcame its Victorian counterpart 9.5 – 8.5. In the Dunhill Cup format, players play a Stroke round, with the player having the lowest gross score over 18 holes of a match, against the opposing state player, deemed the winner of that game for his respective State. For Metro, Sam Burton (Tea Tree Gully) was the best performed player with 3 wins, while Michael Coleman (The Grange), secured 2 valuable wins from his 3 matches. Travis Miller (Kooyonga) took the honours for lowest round of the week for Metro players when carding a 70 in round one. In the Country Section, The SA Boys also claimed a close hard fought 9.5 – 8.5. victory. Ben Tucker (Robe), Billy Cawthorne (Echunga) and Peter Johns (Barmera) were triumphant in two of their respective matches with Tucker taking the honours for lowest round of the week for Country Players when carding a 66 in round two. Overall, the SA Boys team were victorious 19 matches v 17 matches and have now won the past three series after the Victorians won the previous 8 consecutive contests. Click here for full results sheets: Girls Cudmore Cheney Challenge Audrey McLaren Trophy Boy&aposs Border Challenge Teams Girls Cudmore Cheney * Alicia Smith (Grange) – The Grange * Emma Sutton (Grange) * Zoe Taylor (Mt Osmond) * Alyssa Sedunary (Grange) * Sophia Cannizzaro (Grange) * Morgan Pfitzner (Renmark) * Res: (non travelling) Jin Young Yun (Grange) Boy s Metropolitan * James Wallman (Captain) – Royal Adelaide * Sam Burton (Tea Tree Gully) * Luke Noble (The Vines) * Liam Georgiadis (Grange) * Travis Miller (Kooyonga) * Michael Coleman (Grange) * Res: (non travelling) Matt Lange (Grange) Boy s Country * Billy Cawthorne (Echunga) * Peter Johns (Barmera) * Joel Durnford (Wirrabara) * Jack Thompson (Pt Lincoln) * Ben Tucker (Robe) * Caleb Perry (Mt Gambier)