Date: March 16, 2010

World class talents in Perth for Amateur

Over 300 of the world s best amateurs golfers representing 16 different nations from as far away as Switzerland, Scotland and South Africa are completing their final preparations before tomorrow s start to the 2010 Srixon Australian Amateur Championships held from 17-24 March at Lake Karrinyup Country Club, Mt Lawley Golf Club and Cottesloe Golf Club in Perth. Leading the charge for the men’s stroke play and amateur titles will be native Western Australians Matt Jager and Jason Scrivener. Jager, the current New Zealand Amateur champion will be shooting for his first Srixon Australian Amateur title. Current Srixon Australian Men’sStroke Play champion Bryden Macpherson returns to defend his title with the Victorian joined by Australian Institute of Sport squad members Daniel Beckmann and Jordan Sherratt who won the NEC Master of the Amateurs title. 2009 Srixon Australian Amateur champion Justine Lee is in Perth to defend her crown alongside Dunes Medallist and Victorian Women’s Stroke Play champion Stacey Keating and recent Riversdale Cup champion and WA local Jessica Speechley. Among the international male contingent is the World Number 38 Amateur Rashid Khan from India who tops the Indian Golf Union s Order of Merit and won the Singapore Amateur Championship. Khan will be joined by compatriot Ashbeer Saini who holds the top spot on the Indian Golf Union s Junior Order of Merit. Singapore s Jonathan Woo, who tied for 8th place at the Asian Amateur Championship at Mission Hills in China, will be joined by New Zealand s Ryan Fox, son of All Black legend Grant Fox. New Zealand pair Zoe Brake, who qualified for last week s Handa Women’s Australian Open and Caroline Bon will start in Perth joined by the exciting Korean born New Zealander Cecilia Cho who won 15 individual titles in 2009. The Srixon Australian Amateur Championships have a long and illustrious history with former stroke play and amateur champions including US PGA Tour players Mathew Goggin, Greg Chalmers, Jason Day and World Number 8 Karrie Webb and LPGA player Sarah Kemp. 2010 SCHEDULE: 17-20 March SRIXON Australian Women’s Stroke Play Championship Cottesloe Golf Club and Lake Karrinyup Country Club 18-21 March SRIXON Australian Men’sStroke Play Championship Mount Lawley Golf Club and Lake Karrinyup Golf Club 22-24 March SRIXON Australian Amateur Championships (Match Play) Lake Karrinyup Country Club