HISTORY - GOLF SA AMATEUR CLASSIC

John Crosby (President SAGA 1982-1986) initiated the SAGA Invitational in 1985 to give the leading amateur golfers in Australia the opportunity to compete against one another. Additional events in other States included Lake Macquarie (Belmont NSW) and Riverside (Riverside VIC) giving Amateurs golfers similar opportunities.

The first SAGA Invitational was sponsored by Adrian Brien Ford & TAA and was played at Royal Adelaide, its spiritual home. The inaugural winner was Brett Ogle (NSW).

The event was renamed the Golf SA Amateur Classic in 2009 with a handsome bronze of a classic golfer as the perpetual trophy. The Golf SA Classic is played in the week after Easter – after the Mandurah Easter Amateur Open (WA) and forms part of the Golf Australia national trial event series.

YEAR	INDIVIDUAL WINNER	TEAMS WINNERS
1985	Brett Ogle (NSW)	
1986	Peter O'Malley (NSW)	
1987	B King (WA)	
1988	Phil Roberts (SA)	
1989	John Wade (Vic)	
1990	Steve Conran (NSW)	
1991	Doug Gardner (Qld)	
1992	Stuart Appleby (Vic)	
1993	Jason Dawes (Vic)	Jason Dawes/Gavin Vearing (Vic)
1994	Greg Chalmers (WA)	Greg Chalmers/Jarrod Moseley (WA)
1995	Lester Peterson (NSW)	L Peterson/B Jones (NSW)
1996	Brett Rumford (WA)	Paul Marshall/Brett Partridge (Tas)
1997	Paul Sheehan (NSW)	L Peterson/B Jones (NSW)
1998	Brian Jones (NSW)	Kim Felton/Brett Rumford (WA)
1999	Brad Lamb (Vic)	Brad Lamb/John Sutherland (Vic)
2000	Rob Hammer (SA)	Andrew Johnson/Andrew Richardson (SA)
2001	Richard Moir (AIS/Qld)	
2002	Robin Hodgetts (Tas)	Marcus Both/Craig Scott (Vic)
2003	Robin Hodgetts (Tas)	Adam Bland/Henry Perks (SA)
2004	Adam Porker (Vic)	Adam Bland/Henry Perks (SA)
2005	Rick Kulacz (WA)	Michael Dennis/Rick Kulacz (WA)
2006	Andrew Martin (Vic)	
2007	Rick Kulacz (WA)	Rick Kulacz/Scott Hunter (WA)
2008 ¹	Daniel Willett (Eng)	Grant Scott/Brendan Smith (NSW)
2009	Daniel Nisbett (Qld)	Daniel Nisbett/Tim Hart (QLD)
2010	Brad Moules (SA)	Matt Jager/Jason Scrivener (WA)
2011	Brett Drewett (NSW)	Brett Drewett / Matt Stieger (NSW)

'JOHN CROSBY TROPHY' WINNERS

¹The 2008 SAGA Invitational was run in conjunction with the Golf Australian Amateur (Royal Adelaide & Grange) as a prelude to the World Amateur Teams Championships being held in Adelaide in October 2008.

