## **HISTORY**

Discussions on a Sand Greens Championship for South Australia began in August 1981 by the then South Australian Golf Association (SAGA). The eventual model adopted was based on that used by New South Wales and Victoria. The inaugural Sand Greens Championship was held at the Port Pirie Golf Club on  $25^{th}$  &  $26^{th}$  Sep 1982 with a Trophy provided by the Association. The Entry Fee was \$5

A Division started in 1982 B Division started in 2007

## More recent host venues:

2004 - Kadina

2005 - Hamley Bridge

2006 - Crystal Brook

2007 - Yankalilla (A) & Peterborough (B) \* first year of A and B Grade.

2008 - Kimba (A) & Cleve (B)

2009 - Minlaton (A) & Ardrossan (B)

2010 - Blyth (A) & Saddleworth (B)

2011 - Tumby Bay (A & B at the same venue)

2012 - Kadina (A & B)

## **A Division Winners**

YEAR	PLAYERS	YEAR	PLAYERS
1982	S Lynch	1997	R Cocks
1983	J Promnitz	1998	B Huntley
1984	P Thompson	1999	J Wheeler
1985	B Daw	2000	S Arthur
1986	A Shodde	2001	J Wheeler
1987	B Daw	2002	B Whitcher
1988	M Pilkington	2003	J Wheeler
1989	M Pearce	2004	J Wheeler
1990	M Pearce	2005	R Nairn
1991	P McCarthy	2006	B Crosby
1992	R Nairn	2007	S Matthews
1993	R Nairn	2008	G Cheriton
1994	C Warner	2009	J Wheeler
1995	D Robinson	2010	J Wheeler
1996	S Fuss	2011	R Nairn
		2012	J Wheeler

## **B Division Winners**

YEAR	PLAYERS	YEAR	PLAYERS
2007	D Grace		
2008	N Haines		
2009	B Heinrich		
2010	A Beyer		
2011	G Reynolds		
2012	P Daniel		