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Welcome to the Golf NSW monthly Golf Rules Quiz.

If you complete the quiz online you will receive your results and the answers at the end of the quiz. Click on the Start button
to commence the quiz. Alternatively, if you wish to complete the quiz offline, you can display and print out a copy of the quiz
using the "Golf NSW Rules Quiz" link below.

Good luck and thank you for your interest in the Rules of Golf.

Q.1) Rosalie, whose ball lies off the green farthest from the hole, hits her ball to the green where it
collides with and deflects a ball that is in motion after being putted from on the green by
Ingrid. Which of the following is correct?

A Ingrid must replay her putt with no penalty

B Ingrid must play her ball from where it comes to rest after the collision
C. Both players must replay their strokes
D

Neither player must replay their strokes and they must now play from where their balls came to rest

Q.2) On the fairway there are two separate areas marked as Ground Under Repair (GUR).
Michael’s ball comes to rest in one of the areas marked as GUR. He finds his nearest point of
relief and drops within one club-length of that point and not nearer the hole. His ball rolls a
further club-length and comes to rest such that he would be standing in the other area which
has been marked as GUR. Which of the following is correct?

A Michael must redrop his ball as it has moved outside the permitted dropping area
B Michael must redrop his ball as he is still in GUR

C. Michael’s ball is in play but he may take relief from his new position

D Michael is not entitled to relief from the new area of GUR

Q.3) Dew and frost are defined as loose impediments on the putting green but not on the fairway.
A True
B. False

Q.4) Jamie’s ball lies on the putting green. After Jamie addresses the ball a bee lands on his ball.
He bends over to brush the insect away from the ball and accidentally moves his ball. Which
of the following is correct?

A Jamie is penalised one stroke and must replace his ball
B. Jamie is not penalised and must replace his ball
C. Jamie is not penalised and he must play the ball from its new position

Q.5) Mark’s ball has rolled into a lateral water hazard. He lifts and correctly drops his ball in
accordance with Rule 26-1¢(i). The ball does not come to rest within two club-lengths and
rolls back into the hazard. Mark retrieves his ball from the hazard and again drops it as he did
before. Again the ball rolls back into the hazard so Mark places his ball on the spot where it
struck the ground when dropped the second time. This time the ball comes to rest and Mark
goes to his buggy to select a club. When he returns, the ball has once again rolled into the
hazard where he cannot play it. What must Mark do?

A Mark must again proceed under R26 for an additional stroke penalty, making two penalty strokes
in all

B. Mark must place his ball back on the spot where he placed it before for no penalty

c. Mark may select a new spot (no nearer the hole) where his ball will come to rest and place it there

for no penalty

Q.6) Which of the following is not permitted before making a stroke at a ball?
A Removing frost or dew from the teeing ground
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B. Standing on a branch to prevent it interfering with the backswing
C. Through the green, moving some pieces of tan bark which lie around the ball

D. Repairing a pitch mark which lies on the green when the ball is not on the green

Sam plays from the tee and his ball lands on a piece of paper in a lateral water hazard. Sam
lifts the ball, removes the paper and places the ball as near as possible to where it originally
lay. Sam then plays a shot which lands just short of the green. Sam then attempts to chip the
ball but hits behind it raising a piece of turf immediately behind the ball and the ball doesn’t
move. Sam then taps down the divot and hits his ball to the green. He then makes one putt to
complete the hole. Sam’s score for the hole is?

A 7
B. 8
C. 9

Phil and Pauline are partners in a foursomes competition. Phil hits a ball from the tee which
lands in a lateral water hazard. Phil may drop the ball within two club-lengths of where it last
crossed the margin of the hazard for Pauline to play the next stroke

True
A

B. False

Sue and Lynne are partners playing in a Four-Ball match. Sue accidentally hits Lynne’s ball.
Which of the following is correct?

A Sue is disqualified for the hole but Lynne is not
B. Sue is penalised two strokes and must correct her error
C.

Sue and Lynne are disqualified for that hole

Sam and Ted are playing in a Four-Ball (Best Ball) Stableford teams event. After 16 holes it
was noticed that player Sam had been carrying 15 clubs since the start of the stipulated
round. Which of the following is correct?

A Sam's score for the first two holes are ignored and Ted's scores on the first two holes count
B Sam is disqualified

C. The side’s score for the round is reduced by 4 points

D The side’s score for the first two holes does not count



