## SA Men's and Women's Amateur

## History

The Golf SA Medal and Amateur is the pre-eminent individual championship for an amateur golfer in the State.

The Men's Amateur Championship has an unbroken history dating back to the inception of the South Australian Golf Association (SAGA) in 1905. There were two periods of recess (1914-1918 World War 1 & 1940-1945 World War 2). Records indicate that the Amateur Championship was played from 1900-1904, although not under the auspice of SAGA. The name of the Amateur Champion is placed on the SAGA Honour Board.

The Women's Amateur Championship dates back to 1902 when it was played as the Ladies' State Championship. It was conducted under the auspices of SAGA from 1905 to 1929 when the South Australian Ladies Golf Union (SALGU) was formed as a separate entity. There were two periods of recess (1914-1918 World War 1 & 1940-1945 World War 2).

In 2009 Golf SA combined the Men's & Women's Medal & Amateur Championships into one consolidated event. The Medal is a stroke event that leads to qualification for the Amateur – a match play final – where the winner is declared the South Australian Amateur Champion.

## **SA AMATEUR CHAMPIONS - MEN'S**

YEAR	MEN	YEAR	MEN
1900	J Baker	1961	R Stevens
1901	C Irwin	1962	M Dale
1902	W Gunson	1963	N Foot
1903	T Cheadle	1964	P Scovell
1904	W Gunson	1965	V Kingscott
1905	T Cheadle	1966	P Scovell
1906	H Hyland	1967	G Dick
1907	H Hyland	1968	R Duval
1908	E Striling	1969	M Dale
1909	B Pearce	1970	H Bell
1910	C Pearce	1971	D Sharp
1911	F Barritt	1972	G Stevens
1912	T Cheadle	1973	C Bonython
1913	T Cheadle	1974	J Muller
1914-1918	WWI Recess	1975	J Muller
1919	T Cheadle	1976	D Cherry
1920	G Murdoch	1977	G Way
1921	C Winser	1978	D Cherry
1922	C Winser	1979	D Jay
1923	C Winser	1980	N Crafter
1924	B Swift	1981	M Haslett
1925	A Russell	1982	D Harris
1926	C Winser	1983	K Bulbeck
1927	T Cheadle	1984	M Haslett
1928	W Rymill	1985	N Crafter
1929	C Winser	1986	S Robinson
1930	C Winser	1987	N Crafter
1931	C Winser	1988	P Roberts
1932	W Rymill	1989	D Cahill
1933	W Ackland-Horman	1990	P Chapman
1934	W Rymill	1991	G Simpson
1935	W Rymill	1992	N Crafter
1936	R Sawers	1993	G Simpson
1937	C Winser	1994	G Simpson
1938	W Rymill	1995	P Chapman
1939	W Rymill	1996	B Chant
1940-45	WW2 – Recess	1997	B Chant
1946	W Edgar	1998	B Chant

1947	R Brown	1999	B Crosby
1948	W Edgar	2000	A Richardson
1949	W Edgar	2001	A Johnson
1950	W Shephard	2002	A Bland
1951	K Pix	2003	B Tuohy
1952	W Ackland-Horman	2004	H Perks
1953	R Stevens	2005	J. Sherratt
1954	N Foot	2006	L.Fuller
1955	W Ackland-Horman	2007	C.Austin
1956	W Shephard	2008	C.Austin
1957	R Tuohy	2009	S.Gava
1958	R Tuohy	2010	M.McCardle
1959	R Stevens	2011	B.Moules
1960	R Duval	2012	J.Williams

## SA AMATEUR CHAMPIONS – WOMEN'S

YEAR	WOMEN	YEAR	WOMEN
1920	Mrs F Bruce	1973	Miss C Whitford
1921	Mrs E Britten-Jones	1974	Mrs R K Duval
1922	Mrs Maxwell Fowler	1975	Miss S Tonkin
1923-25	Mrs E Britten-Jones	1976	Mrs R K Moore
1926	Miss L Gordon	1977	Miss J Crafter
1927-31	Mrs E Britten-Jones	1978	Mrs R K Duval
1932	Miss K Rymill	1979	Miss K Simmonds
1933	Miss H Seeck	1980	Miss J Crafter
1934	Mrs RG DeCrespigny	1981	Mrs G J Barton
1935–37	Miss K Rymill	1982	Miss S Tonkin
1938	Dr E Nenkivell	1983	Miss J Dale
1939	Mrs E Britten-Jones	1984	Miss S Tonkin
1940-45	War Years	1985	Mrs D Sharp
1946	Miss S Fisher	1986-88	Mrs J Dale-Harris
1947	Miss D Boully	1989	Miss W Doolan (NSW)
1948	Mrs D Denehey	1990-92	Miss A-M Knight
1949	Miss D Boully	1993-94	Miss F Pike
1950	Miss S Fisher	1995	Miss F Giles
1951	Mrs J Wheatley	1996	Miss T Durdin
1952	Mrs J M Watson	1997	Mrs L McGough
1953	Miss J Barratt	1998	Mrs F Nairn
1954	Mrs J M Watson	1999	Miss M Bagger
1955	Miss D Boully	2000	Miss R Coakley
1956–57	Mrs J M Watson	2001–02	Miss M Bagger
1958	Miss D Gardiner	2003	Miss P Duffield
1959	Mrs J M Watson	2004	Miss H McCulkin
1960	Mrs J D Fisher (V)	2005	Miss P Duffield
1961–66	Mrs J M Watson	2006	Miss E Heard
1967	Miss M Wallace (V)	2007	Miss E Heard
1968	Mrs J M Watson	2008	Miss S Na
1969	Mrs R G Birrell	2009	Miss E Ash
1970	Mrs R K Duval	2010	Miss E Heard
1971	Mrs R G Birrell	2011	Miss S King
1972	Miss C Anderson	2012	Miss N Smith