

## HISTORY AND HONOUR ROLL – Australian Girls' Interstate Teams Matches (for the Burtta Cheney Cup)

## **History**

In 1977 the Junior Interstate Handicap Matches were initiated for competition between State Junior Teams of two players under 21 years of age. In 1986 the trophy was named the Burtta Cheney Cup and the format changed to a team of four players until 1993 when each team consisted of six players under the age of 18. Between 2002 and 2005 the competition was played as 18-hole medal matches, but reverted back to match play in 2006.

From 2007 onwards, all matches were played as scratch match play – previous to that, players five and six contested handicap match play.

## **Miss Burtta Cheney**

Between 1949 and 1963, Miss Cheney was the captain of teams that competed for the Tasman Cup and Commonwealth Tournament. Burtta Cheney was also a player in those same events on numerous occasions.

In a long career as a player, Miss Cheney won the 1957 Australian Amateur Championship at Royal Adelaide Golf Club. Miss Cheney was also a member of the ALGU Council for various periods between 1947 and 1983, and the ALGU Vice-President between 1977 and 1979.



The ALGU is indebted to Miss Cheney who through a generous donation in 1987, endowed the trophies for winners of the interstate matches. In the same year, the ALGU Council sought her permission for the trophy to be named the Burtta Cheney Cup.

## **Honour Roll & Venue**

Year	Champion	Venue
2013	Queensland	Western Australia GC, WA
2012	Queensland	Carbrook GC, QLD
2011	Queensland	Pacific Dunes GC, NSW
2010	New South Wales	Ulverstone GC, TAS
2009	Queensland	Alice Springs GC, NT
2008	Queensland	Nudgee GC, QLD
2007	Victoria	Ulverstone GC, TAS
2006	Queensland	Southern GC, VIC
2005	Western Australia	Glenelg GC, SA
2004	Queensland	Mandurah GC, WA
2003	Western Australia	Long Reef GC, NSW
		-

2002	Western Australia	Brisbane GC, QLD
2001	Queensland	Riverside GC, TAS
2000	New South Wales	Keysborough GC, VIC
1999	Queensland	The Grange GC, SA
1998	Queensland	Royal Fremantle GC, WA
1997	New South Wales	Bonnie Doon GC, NSW
1996	Queensland	Indooroopilly GC, QLD
1995	Queensland	Royal Hobart GC, TAS
1994	Queensland	Royal Adelaide GC, SA
1993	Queensland	Peninsula CGC, VIC
1992	Queensland	Cottesloe GC, WA
1991	Queensland	Royal Queensland GC, QLD
1990	Queensland	New South Wales GC, NSW
1989	New South Wales	Royal Hobart GC, TAS
1988	Queensland	Glenelg GC, SA
1987	New South Wales	Woodlands GC, VIC
1986	Western Australia	Royal Perth GC, WA
1985	Queensland & Western Australia	
1984	Victoria	
1983	South Australia	
1982	New South Wales	
1981	New South Wales	
1980	South Australia	
1979	Victoria & New South Wales	
1978	Victoria	
1977	Western Australia	