

HISTORY AND HONOUR ROLL – Australian Women's Interstate Teams Matches (for the Gladys Hay Memorial Cup)

History

The first interstate match was played in 1897, then 1906 to 1939 and from 1947. In 1933 the series became the Gladys Hay Memorial Cup in honour of Miss Hay to perpetuate her great contribution to the game both as an administrator (Foundation Member of the ALGU and Council Member 1921-23) and player (Australian Champion 1922).

Each team consists of six players, with four players taking part in the two foursomes, and five players involved in the singles.

From 2007, the Women's, Men's and Colts Interstate Teams Matches were played concurrently in the same city.

In 2011 the foursomes matches were removed which each team contesting singles matches only. At the conclusion of the five singles rounds, team one and two play each another in a final with teams three and four, and five and six, playing off for third and fifth place respectively.

Gladys Hay

Gladys Hay was the winner of the last Victorian Championship before World War 1 (1914) and the first after it (1920 and 1921). It is considered that the war detracted from Gladys gaining an even more impressive record. She was very committed to the establishment of associate golf at her own club, Metropolitan in Melbourne, and was a prominent administrator who became widely recognised as an authority on the Rules of the game.



Honour Roll & Venue

Champion	Venue
Victoria	Royal Hobart GC, TAS
Western Australia	West Lakes GC, SA
Western Australia	The Western Australian Golf Club, WA
Victoria & Queensland	McLeod CC, QLD
New South Wales	Peninsula CGC (North Course), VIC
New South Wales	Pymble GC, NSW
Queensland	Barwon Heads GC, VIC
South Australia	Devonport GC, TAS
Western Australia	Royal Fremantle GC, WA
New South Wales	McLeod GC, QLD
New South Wales	Victoria GC, VIC
Queensland	Royal Adelaide GC, SA
New South Wales	Ryde-Parramatta GC, NSW
New South Wales	Tasmania GC, TAS
	Victoria Western Australia Western Australia Victoria & Queensland New South Wales New South Wales Queensland South Australia Western Australia New South Wales New South Wales Queensland New South Wales Queensland New South Wales

Year	Champion	Venue
1999	New South Wales	Western Australian GC, WA
1998	Queensland	Brisbane GC, QLD
1997	Western Australia	Commonwealth GC, VIC
1996	Victoria	Grange GC, SA
1995	Queensland	Steelworks GC, NSW
1994	Victoria	Cottesloe GC, WA
1993	Queensland	Royal Queensland GC, QLD
1992	New South Wales	Glenelg GC, SA
1991	New South Wales	Royal Melbourne GC, VIC
1990	New South Wales	Tasmania GC, TAS
1989	Western Australia	Mt Lawley GC, WA
1988	New South Wales	The Australian GC, NSW
1987	Queensland	Indooroopilly GC, QLD
1986	New South Wales	Grange GC East Course, SA
1985	New South Wales	Peninsula GC, VIC
1984	New South Wales	
1983	New South Wales	
1982	Queensland	
1981	Victoria	
1980	Victoria	
1979	Victoria	
1978	New South Wales	
1977	New South Wales	
1976	New South Wales	
1975	Victoria	
1974	New South Wales	
1973	Victoria	
1972	New South Wales	
1971	New South Wales	
1970	New South Wales	
1969	New South Wales	
1968	New South Wales	
1967	New South Wales	
1966	New South Wales	
1965	New South Wales	
1964	Victoria	
1963	New South Wales	
1962	Queensland	
1961	Victoria	
1960	Victoria	
1959	New South Wales	
1958	Victoria	
1957	Victoria	
1956	Queensland	
1955	New South Wales	
1954	Queensland	

1953 New South Wales 1952 Victoria 1951 Queensland 1950 New South Wales 1949 New South Wales 1948 Victoria 1947 New South Wales 1940-1946 Not Played 1939 Victoria 1938 Victoria 1937 Victoria 1936 South Australia	Year	Champion	Venue
1951 Queensland 1950 New South Wales 1949 New South Wales 1948 Victoria 1947 New South Wales 1940-1946 Not Played 1939 Victoria 1938 Victoria 1937 Victoria	1953	New South Wales	
1950 New South Wales 1949 New South Wales 1948 Victoria 1947 New South Wales 1940-1946 Not Played 1939 Victoria 1938 Victoria 1937 Victoria	1952	Victoria	
1949 New South Wales 1948 Victoria 1947 New South Wales 1940-1946 Not Played 1939 Victoria 1938 Victoria 1937 Victoria	1951	Queensland	
1948 Victoria 1947 New South Wales 1940-1946 Not Played 1939 Victoria 1938 Victoria 1937 Victoria	1950	New South Wales	
1947 New South Wales 1940-1946 Not Played 1939 Victoria 1938 Victoria 1937 Victoria	1949	New South Wales	
1940-1946 Not Played 1939 Victoria 1938 Victoria 1937 Victoria	1948	Victoria	
1939 Victoria 1938 Victoria 1937 Victoria	1947	New South Wales	
1938 Victoria 1937 Victoria	1940-1946	Not Played	
1937 Victoria	1939	Victoria	
	1938	Victoria	
1936 South Australia	1937	Victoria	
	1936	South Australia	
1935 New South Wales	1935	New South Wales	
1934 New South Wales	1934	New South Wales	
1933 Victoria	1933	Victoria	