

## MINUTES (to be ratified at the 2013 AGM)

## 6.30 PM ON FRIDAY 30 NOVEMBER 2012

## COMMUNITY ROOM PETER STYLES MLA, NORTHLAKES SHOPPING CENTRE

### Present

Golf NT: Stewart Cox (Chairman), Jason De Araujo (Public Officer and Secretary), Tanya Kirker (Treasurer), Peter Shapcott (Vice President), Brian Pepper.

Delegates: Ron Izett (Humpty Doo), Allen Fanning (Gove), Trevor Durdin (Darwin), Doug Townsley (Tennant Creek), Daynor Trigg (RAAF Darwin), Peter Sinnott (Katherine), Mark Holt (Jabiru), Brian Pepper (Alice Springs) and Graeme Chin (Palmerston).

### Observers

Sharon Hartley (Development Officer, Golf NT).

- Apologies.
  - Absent: Alyangula GC, Elliot GC, Gardens Park Golf Links and RAAF Tindal GC.
- Confirm the minutes of the last proceeding AGM and any general meeting held since that meeting.
  - Minutes of the AGM dated 2012 confirmed with no amendments.
    - Moved: Brian Pepper.
    - Seconded: Trevor Durdin.
- Receive from the Committee, auditor and servants of the Association reports upon the transaction of the Association during the last proceeding year.
  - The annual report, President's overview and financial statements for the Association were tabled and accepted.
    - Accepted by all members.



# Elect the officers of the Committee whose positions fall vacant at that meeting.

- o Nominations for President One nomination from the floor Stewart Cox (Darwin GC).
  - Stewart was elected President.
- Nominations for Vice President Peter Shapcott (RAAF Darwin GC).
  - Peter was elected as Vice President.
- Nominations for Treasurer Tanya Kirker (Alice Springs GC).
  - Tanya was elected as Treasurer.
- Nominations for Secretary Jason De Araujo (Darwin GC).
  - Jason was elected as Secretary.
- Nominations for Members (four vacancies) Tricia Clarke (Darwin GC), Brian Pepper (Alice Springs GC) and Vicki Stokes (Darwin GC). One nomination from the floor – Allen Fanning (Gove Country GC).
  - Tricia, Brian, Vicki and Allen were elected to the Committee.

### • To appoint the auditor and determining his/her remuneration.

- Perks Audit and Insurance were appointed and an estimate of \$2000 was approved.
  - Accepted by all members.
- o A Delegate requested a different Auditor for 2013/14.
  - Accepted by all members.

### • Determine subscriptions under Clause 12.2.

- Fees for 2013/14 will be \$35.20 (inclusive of GST) based on golfing membership at Member Club.
  - Moved: Graeme Chin.
  - Seconded: Trevor Durdin.

### • Determine the remuneration of servants of the Association.

- Employment of two part-time staff. Office Manager and Development Officer with a combined annual salary of \$50,960 + super and allowances.
  - Moved: Trevor Durdin.
  - Seconded: Brian Pepper.



### Determine the venues for the NT Amateur Golf Championships.

- 2014 NT Women's Amateur Golf Championships two nominations received; Darwin GC and Palmerston GC. The Delegates voted.
  - Darwin GC is to hold the Women's Championships.
- 2014 NT Men's Amateur Golf Championships two nominations received; Alice Springs GC and Palmerston GC. The Delegates voted.
  - Palmerston GC is to hold the Men's Championships.
- 2014 NT Country Golf Championships One application received.
  - Alice Springs GC is to hold the Country Championships.
- Other business Special General Meeting Change of the Constitution.
  - Tennant Creek GC circulated a paper about the establishment of a Territory Golf Challenge. This would require the cooperation of Clubs.
    - The majority agreed this should be developed and further work needs to be done.
  - The changes to the Constitution were distributed to all members prior to the general meeting. Golf NT Secretary then gave a briefing on all the changes.
    - Accepted by all members.

Meetings closed: 715 pm.

Stewart Cox, OAM Chairman Jason De Araujo Secretary/Public Officer