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Jane is penalised two strokes

Jill is penalised two strokes

Both players are penalised two strokes

Laura may substitute another ball where the previous ball had come to rest and incurs no
additional penalty strokes
Laura may substitute another ball where the previous ball had come to rest and incurs an
additional one stroke penalty
Laura may drop another ball within two club lengths of where her ball last crossed the
margin of the hazard and not nearer the hole and add an additional penalty stroke to her
score

The result of the match stands with Mark winning one upThe result of the match stands
with Mark winning one up

Mark loses the hole for giving wrong information and now Phil is the winner of the match

The players should correct their errors and return to the tee and replay the hole

True

False

A player moves her ball when searching for it in the rough and does not replace it before
playing her next stroke at the ball
After a player commences her backswing her ball moves and she continues her swing and
makes a stroke at the ball
A player plays when it was her partner’s turn to play in a foursomes stroke play event

True

False
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Welcome to the Golf NSW monthly Golf Rules Quiz.

If you complete the quiz online you will receive your results and the answers at the end of the quiz. Click on the
Start button to commence the quiz. Alternatively, if you wish to complete the quiz offline, you can display and print
out a copy of the quiz using the "Golf NSW Rules Quiz" link below. 

Good luck and thank you for your interest in the Rules of Golf.
 

Q.1) Jane and Jill are partners in a four­ball stableford competition and Jane's ball lies on
the green. She has a 5 metre putt for a par and 3 stableford points.  Jill indicates the
line of the putt to Jane by touching the green with her putter. Their fellow­competitors
notice this and indicate that a rule has been broken. What is the ruling?
 

  A.
  B.
  C.

Q.2) Laura hits her tee shot into the water on a par 3 hole. She drops the ball correctly
within two club lengths of where it last crossed the margin of the lateral water hazard
and not nearer the hole thus incurring a one stroke penalty. The ball comes to rest but
before Laura is able to play her next stroke, the ball rolls back into the water and is not
able to be retrieved.  How should Laura proceed?

  A.

  B.

 
C.

Q.3) A match is all square as the players tee off on the 18th hole. Phil plays his first stroke
from the wrong set of tees. His opponent Mark then plays his first stroke from the
correct set of tees and it goes out of bounds. Mark then tells Phil that as he has played
from the wrong tees he has lost the hole for playing from a wrong place. Phil does not
disagree and concedes the match to Mark. As they are walking back towards the
clubhouse Phil speaks to a spectator and discovers that there is no penalty for playing
from outside the teeing ground in match play. What is the ruling?

  A.

  B.
  C.

Q.4) When a player drops a ball using the unplayable ball rule he is entitled to substitute
another ball.

  A.
  B.

Q.5) Which of the following situations does NOT incur a two stroke penalty?
  A.

  B.

  C.

Q.6) The margin of a bunker extends up but not down.
  A.
  B.

Q.7) Gemma is playing a match in which there is no allowance for handicap and on a par 3
hole plays a stroke from the tee and the ball heads towards an area which is marked



12/3/2014 Printable Quiz: (2014­12) Golf NSW Golf Rules Quiz ­ December 2014 / January 2015

http://www.proprofs.com/quiz­school/printquiz.php?title=NTk5NDEz 2/2

Gemma’s opponent is correct and she must continue play with her original ball
Gemma must proceed with the original ball and may go back to the tee and play another
stroke from there adding a penalty stroke to her score for the hole
Gemma’s score for the hole is three and if her opponent takes more than three strokes to
complete the hole, Gemma wins the hole

The ball lies completely on a line which marks out of bounds

The ball lies partly on a line which marks out of bounds and partly inside this line
The ball lands in a water hazard which is in bounds and is then moved by the water to an
area just beyond the boundaries of the course

None

Two strokes

Disqualification

True

False

out of bounds. Without announcing that she is hitting a provisional ball, Gemma plays
another ball from the tee and it lands in the hole. Gemma’s opponent finds her original
ball in bounds but in an unplayable position and insists that Gemma must play that ball
as it has been found. How should Gemma proceed?

  A.

  B.

  C.

Q.8) In which of the following situations is a ball NOT out of bounds?
  A.
  B.

  C.

Q.9) Allan’s tee shot may be lost in long grass so he plays a provisional ball.  As the
provisional may also be lost in the long grass Allan plays a second provisional ball. He
finds all three including the original ball, but the original is in an unplayable position.
He drops a ball within two clublengths of this place and not nearer the hole and
continues to play the hole. Three holes later Allan notices that the ball he is using is
the ball that he had used  previously for his second provisional ball. What penalty is
incurred, apart from the one stroke for the unplayable ball.

  A.
  B.
  C.

Q.10) A player’s ball ricochets off a tree and comes to rest in a water hazard. He may lift the
ball (but not clean it) to determine whether it has become unfit for play after hitting the
tree.

  A.
  B.


