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Welcome to the Golf NSW monthly Golf Rules Quiz.
If you complete the quiz online you will receive your results and the answers at the end of the quiz. Click on the
Start button to commence the quiz. Alternatively, if you wish to complete the quiz offline, you can display and print

out a copy of the quiz using the "Golf NSW Rules Quiz" link below.

Good luck and thank you for your interest in the Rules of Golf.

Q.7) A club that has been damaged prior to a round and still conforms with the Rules may be
repaired during a round provided that the playing characteristics are not changed and
play is not unduly delayed.

A True

B. False

Q.2) Which of the following incurs a two stroke penalty in stroke play?

A. Making a stroke at a ball which is moving in water
B. Making a stroke at a ball which is falling off a tee
C. Making a stroke at a ball which starts to move before the commencement of the backward

movement of a club for a stroke as a result of a gust of wind



Q.3) Which of the following situations incurs a one stroke penalty?

A. Playing a ball from a wrong place
B. Purposely touching a ball to identify it without first marking it
C. Playing a wrong ball

Q.4) Jordan and Oliver are partners in a foursomes competition. They may share clubs
provided the total number of clubs carried by them does not exceed fourteen.

A. True
B. False

Q.5) Janice and Joyce were partners in a four-ball stableford competition. Janice’s ball came
to rest under a mushroom. (see picture)

. LS : . S - il Joyce removed the
mushroom and then reallsed that it was attached. They continued play of the hole with
Janice scoring 2 stableford points and Joyce scoring 3 stableford points. Before
returning their card they asked the committee how they should proceed. What is the
correct ruling?

A Joyce is penalised two strokes for improving the lie of her partner’s ball and therefore her
score for the hole was 1 point. Janice’s score of 2 points should be recorded as their score
for the hole.

B. Janice is penalised two strokes as she benefited from the removal of the mushroom. Joyce

is not penalised and her score of 3 stableford points should be recorded as their score for



the hole

C Joyce and Janice are both penalised two strokes and after taking these into account their
’ score for the hole will be 1 stableford point for Joyce

Q.6) Peter was playing in a stableford competition. On the par four third hole where he was
entitled to one handicap stroke his tee shot flew 100 metres forward towards a heavily
treed area. After searching for three minutes, Peter decided that the ball was lost in the
trees so he dropped a ball within two club lengths of where the ball entered the trees
and took a further three strokes to complete the hole. He then teed off at the next hole.
Which of the following is CORRECT?

A. Peter’s score for the hole is 1 stableford point
B. Peter’s score for the hole is 0 stableford points
C. Peter is disqualified for dropping his ball in a wrong place and not correcting his error

before teeing off on the next hole

Q.7) Christine’s ball lay in a bunker against a rake. She moved the rake and her ball moved.
She tried to replace the ball where it originally lay but it would not come to rest on that
spot. She then placed the ball at the nearest spot where it would stay at rest but not
nearer the hole. The ball was at rest in this position. While Christine was going to her
bag to collect her club, the ball moved to a position closer to the hole. Christine played
the ball from this new position. How many penalty strokes does Christine incur?

A 3
B 2
C. 1
o 0

Q.8) Philip and Fergus were fellow-competitors in a stroke play competition. Fergus’ ball was
a long way from the hole. While Fergus’ ball was in motion after his putt, Philip picked
up a leaf which was lying near the hole as he was worried that it would deflect Fergus’
ball. What is the CORRECT ruling?

A. There is no penalty to either player
B. Fergus is penalised one stroke

C. Philip is penalised two strokes



Q.9) In a four-ball match, an opponent lifted a player’s ball on the putting green after marking
its position. He did this without the authority of the player. Which of the following is

CORRECT?

A. There is no penalty to the opponent or his partner

B. The opponent is penalised one stroke but his partner is not
C. Both the opponent and his partner are penalised one stroke

Q.10) Joe’s ball landed in a bunker close to a drain (see picture)

L= - : Joe was unable to play his intended stroke as
the dram interfered with the area of his swing. What is/are the correct rulings? There
may be more than one correct answer.

A Joe must make a stroke that avoids the drain or take an unplayable lie and drop his ball in
' the bunker for a penalty of one stroke
B. Joe must take a free drop within one club length of the nearest point of relief no nearer the

hole. If that one club length reaches outside the bunker then Joe may drop outside the
bunker for no penalty

c Joe may drop, without penalty in the bunker within one club length of the nearest point of
’ relief no nearer the hole
D. For a penalty of one stroke, Joe may drop his ball outside the bunker keeping the point

where the ball lay directly between the hole and where it is dropped without limit as to how
far behind the bunker he drops the ball



