SA Men's and Women's Amateur

History

The Golf SA Medal and Amateur is the pre-eminent individual championship for an amateur golfer in the State.

The Men's Amateur Championship has an unbroken history dating back to the inception of the South Australian Golf Association (SAGA) in 1905. There were two periods of recess (1914-1918 World War 1 & 1940-1945 World War 2). Records indicate that the Amateur Championship was played from 1900-1904, although not under the auspice of SAGA. The name of the Amateur Champion is placed on the SAGA Honour Board.

The Women's Amateur Championship dates back to 1902 when it was played as the Ladies' State Championship. It was conducted under the auspices of SAGA from 1905 to 1929 when the South Australian Ladies Golf Union (SALGU) was formed as a separate entity. There were two periods of recess (1914-1918 World War 1 & 1940-1945 World War 2).

In 2009 Golf SA combined the Men's & Women's Medal & Amateur Championships into one consolidated event. The Medal is a stroke event that leads to qualification for the Amateur – a match play final – where the winner is declared the South Australian Amateur Champion.

YEAR	MEN	YEAR	MEN
1900	J Baker	1962	M Dale
1901	C Irwin	1963	N Foot
1902	W Gunson	1964	P Scovell
1903	T Cheadle	1965	V Kingscott
1904	W Gunson	1966	P Scovell
1905	T Cheadle	1967	G Dick
1906	H Hyland	1968	R Duval
1907	H Hyland	1969	M Dale
1908	E Striling	1970	H Bell
1909	B Pearce	1971	D Sharp
1910	C Pearce	1972	G Stevens
1911	F Barritt	1973	C Bonython
1912	T Cheadle	1974	J Muller
1913	T Cheadle	1975	J Muller
1914-1918	WWI Recess	1976	D Cherry
1919	T Cheadle	1977	G Way
1920	G Murdoch	1978	D Cherry
1921	C Winser	1979	D Jay
1922	C Winser	1980	N Crafter
1923	C Winser	1981	M Haslett
1924	B Swift	1982	D Harris
1925	A Russell	1983	K Bulbeck
1926	C Winser	1984	M Haslett
1927	T Cheadle	1985	N Crafter
1928	W Rymill	1986	S Robinson
1929	C Winser	1987	N Crafter
1930	C Winser	1988	P Roberts
1931	C Winser	1989	D Cahill
1932	W Rymill	1990	P Chapman
1933	W Ackland-Horman	1991	G Simpson
1934	W Rymill	1992	N Crafter
1935	W Rymill	1993	G Simpson
1936	R Sawers	1994	G Simpson
1937	C Winser	1995	P Chapman
1938	W Rymill	1996	B Chant
1939	W Rymill	1997	B Chant
1940-45	WW2 – Recess	1998	B Chant
1946	W Edgar	1999	B Crosby

SA AMATEUR CHAMPIONS - MEN'S

1947	R Brown	2000	A Richardson
1948	W Edgar	2001	A Johnson
1949	W Edgar	2002	A Bland
1950	W Shephard	2003	B Tuohy
1951	K Pix	2004	H Perks
1952	W Ackland-Horman	2005	J. Sherratt
1953	R Stevens	2006	L.Fuller
1954	N Foot	2007	C.Austin
1955	W Ackland-Horman	2008	C.Austin
1956	W Shephard	2009	S.Gava
1957	R Tuohy	2010	M.McCardle
1958	R Tuohy	2011	B.Moules
1959	R Stevens	2012	J.Williams
1960	R Duval	2013	J Cooper
1961	R Stevens		

SA AMATEUR CHAMPIONS – WOMEN'S

YEAR	WOMEN	YEAR	WOMEN
1920	Mrs F Bruce	1974	Mrs R K Duval
1921	Mrs E Britten-Jones	1975	Miss S Tonkin
1922	Mrs Maxwell Fowler	1976	Mrs R K Moore
1923-25	Mrs E Britten-Jones	1977	Miss J Crafter
1926	Miss L Gordon	1978	Mrs R K Duval
1927–31	Mrs E Britten-Jones	1979	Miss K Simmonds
1932	Miss K Rymill	1980	Miss J Crafter
1933	Miss H Seeck	1981	Mrs G J Barton
1934	Mrs RG DeCrespigny	1982	Miss S Tonkin
1935–37	Miss K Rymill	1983	Miss J Dale
1938	Dr E Nenkivell	1984	Miss S Tonkin
1939	Mrs E Britten-Jones	1985	Mrs D Sharp
1940-45	War Years	1986-88	Mrs J Dale-Harris
1946	Miss S Fisher	1989	Miss W Doolan (NSW)
1947	Miss D Boully	1990-92	Miss A-M Knight
1948	Mrs D Denehey	1993–94	Miss F Pike
1949	Miss D Boully	1995	Miss F Giles
1950	Miss S Fisher	1996	Miss T Durdin
1951	Mrs J Wheatley	1997	Mrs L McGough
1952	Mrs J M Watson	1998	Mrs F Nairn
1953	Miss J Barratt	1999	Miss M Bagger
1954	Mrs J M Watson	2000	Miss R Coakley
1955	Miss D Boully	2001-02	Miss M Bagger
1956-57	Mrs J M Watson	2003	Miss P Duffield
1958	Miss D Gardiner	2004	Miss H McCulkin
1959	Mrs J M Watson	2005	Miss P Duffield
1960	Mrs J D Fisher (V)	2006	Miss E Heard
1961-66	Mrs J M Watson	2007	Miss E Heard
1967	Miss M Wallace (V)	2008	Miss S Na
1968	Mrs J M Watson	2009	Miss E Ash
1969	Mrs R G Birrell	2010	Miss E Heard
1970	Mrs R K Duval	2011	Miss S King
1971	Mrs R G Birrell	2012	Miss N Smith
1972	Miss C Anderson	2013	Miss C Rodriguez
1973	Miss C Whitford		