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Welcome to the Golf NSW monthly Golf Rules Quiz.

If you complete the quiz online you will receive your results and the answers at the end of the quiz. Click on the
Start button to commence the quiz. Alternatively, if you wish to complete the quiz offline, you can display and print
out a copy of the quiz using the "Golf NSW Rules Quiz" link below.

Good luck and thank you for your interest in the Rules of Golf.

Q.1) During a match at a par 3 hole with the last 30 metres over a water hazard, Jean tops a tee shot
that dribbles into the water hazard. Sue’s tee shot lands short of the green and rolls back into
the water hazard. Sue decides to play again from the tee under Rule 26-1a, but Jean elects to
drop a ball just behind the water hazard under Rule 26-1b. After Sue tees a ball and Jean drops
a ball, who should play next?

A. Jean
B. Sue

Q.2) Referto the picture. There are two balls, marked A & B, on a stone bridge over a lateral water
hazard. Which of the following is correct?
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A Ball A is entitled to relief without penalty as itis on an immovable obstruction (the stone bridge). The
’ player must drop within one club length of where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard

B Ball B is entitled to relief without penalty as itis on an immovable obstruction. The player must drop
’ within one club length of the nearest point of relief not nearer the hole

C. The player must play ball B it as it lies

Q.3) David is playing match play against Robert. As David plays his ball from a bunker he hears the
club hit the ball again on the follow through. Which of the following is correct?

A. David has deflected the ball with his equipment and loses the hole
B. David made only one stroke at the ball and therefore there is no penalty
c David has struck the ball more than once during the course of a stroke and must count the stroke and add

a penalty stroke

Q.4) Eloise and Lily are playing in a match. On the putting green both balls are close together and as
Lily is furthest from the hole it is her turn to putt. Eloise stands beyond the flag on an extension
of the Lily’s line of putt so that she can see how the ball is going to break. Which of the
following is correct?

A. Eloise is not permitted to stand on an extension of the line of putt and loses the hole
B. Lily loses the hole for allowing Eloise to stand on the extension of her line of putt
C. Neither player is penalised in match play

Q.5) Jordan and Dustin are playing in a stroke play event. Walking to their balls they are engrossed
in conversation and Jordan steps on his own ball and causes it to embed deeply in the fairway.
What is the ruling?

A. Jordan must play the ball as it lies and there is no penalty
B Jordan must place the ball in the lie most similar to the original lie and not more than one club length
’ from the original lie with a penalty of one stroke
c Jordan must drop his ball within one club-length of the spot where the ball was originally and no closer

to the hole incurring a penalty of one stroke
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During a mixed foursomes stroke play event, Julian and Susan are playing together. Julian hits
the tee shot into an area of scrub where it might be lost. Which of the following is correct?

A. Susan may hit a provisional ball from the men’s tees
B. Susan may hit a provisional ball from the ladies tees
C. Julian may hit a provisional ball from the men’s tees

Evan is playing a match against Tim. At the 18th tee, the match is all square and Evan has the
honour. During his downswing the ball starts to fall off the tee. Evan completes his stroke and
contacts the ball but it is a poor shot. He eventually wins the hole by two strokes but before
leaving the green Tim makes a claim on the basis that Evan has made a stroke at a moving ball.
What is the ruling?

A. The claim is valid. Evan incurs a two stroke penalty and the match is all square
B. The claim is valid. Evan loses the hole and Tim wins the match
C. The claim is invalid. Evan wins the match

Jason and Cameron are partners in a foursomes match. Jason was practising putting on the
11th green after Cameron had driven from the 12th tee. What is the ruling?

A. Jason and Cameron lost the 12th hole
B. Jason and Cameron lost the 11th hole
C. There is no penalty

Which of the following is INCORRECT?

A. If a player drops his ball after deeming it unplayable through the green and it rolls less than two club-
lengths no nearer the hole and into a lateral hazard he must re-drop his ball

B. If a player drops his ball after deeming it unplayable through the green and it rolls less than two club-
lengths no nearer the hole into some casual water lying through the green he must re-drop his ball

C. If a player drops his ball after deeming it unplayable through the green and it rolls less than two club-

lengths no nearer the hole and comes to restin a bunker he must re-drop his ball

Erica hits her ball from the tee and it lands on the putting green of an adjacent hole. She uses
her putter to play the ball from the putting green back onto the fairway of the adjacent hole.
From there she plays a stroke over the trees and onto the green where it hits and comes to rest
against the flagstick and not all of the ball is below the lip of the hole. When she reaches the
hole she removes the flagstick and the ball falls into the hole. Erica’s score for the hole is?

http://lwww .proprofs.com/quiz-school/printquiz.php?title=201507-golf-nsw-rules-quiz-july-2015&ty pe= default

22



