# 2015 South Australian Golf Industry Awards Night Saturday 17 October 2015

# SCRIPT FOR MC

## ACTION

### Ben Hook (MC)

In 1974 the South Australian Golf Association (SAGA) introduced the Vardon competition, with the winner being decided on averages calculated over a number of events.

Women's Golf South Australia, introduced its Vardon series in 1976 and was based on a points system.

The Junior Boys Vardon has been running since 1981.

The formation of Golf SA in 2008 has seen the Vardon revised and merged into a single competition based on the same conditions of play.

The Vardon is ranked as one of the most prestigious Amateur golf competitions in the State.

I would now like to invite **Jamie Clutterham** (Assistant State Coach and winner of the boys trophy in 1998 and mens trophy in 2001) to come forward to announce this year Vardon winners.

Unfortunately all three winners are unable to attend tonight due to interstate playing committements but we have filmed a clip of each of them accepting their awards. We will though call forward a representive from each of their respective Clubs to come forward to collect the Trophies on their behalf.

#### (GOLF SA) JUNIOR BOY'S VARDON TROPHY WINNER

#### Jamie Clutterham

The 2015 Junior Boy's Vardon Series included:

- > 10 Club Vardons
- > 3 Golf SA Junior Opens
- > the State Junior Amateur Championship
- > and the State National Junior Ranking event the SA Junior Masters

Finishing:

3rd	with an average of 75.11	was Billy Cawthorne (Royal Adelaide)
2nd	with an average of 74.72	was Liam Georgiadis (The Grange)

But the winner of the Golf SA Junior Vardon Trophy with wins at Tea Tree Gully, Fleurieu, Blackwood and Thaxted Park

with an average of 71.68 from 22 rounds from Glenelg Golf Club Lachlan Barker

Lachy is unable to attend tonight so if a representive from the Glenelg Golf Club could come forward to accept Lachy's award that would be appreated.

Lachy has pre recorded a message.