

UPDATE

SENIOR GOLF NEWSLETTER

Dec 2015

Senior golf continues to develop in South Australia and next year will be bigger again. The growth in numbers participating in our senior events has been terrific, from 55 in 2012 to over 200 in 2015.

The Senior Order of Merit (SOOM) is making slow but steady progress with seven events this year and will increase to nine events in 2016. The additional events are at South Lakes on 8th February and Royal Adelaide on 29th August.

An addition with the SOOM will be a handicap trophy that a number of seniors have been requesting for a year or two. This will be played and recorded along with the scratch scores and an annual trophy will be awarded to the winner at the end of the season dinner. There will be only one trophy, not a senior and super senior, as it is a handicap trophy.

In 2012 we commenced awarding a medal to the winner of the overall Senior Order of Merit for both seniors and super seniors. In honour of two stalwarts of senior golf in South Australia, we now have the senior trophy named after John Beaumont and the super senior trophy is named after Tony Mazzone. Both great blokes who took to the Australian Senior Golf Tour in the early 2000's and played with distinction. For the record, John played in the Australian Sanctuary Cove Trophy against the Kiwis, between 2006 and 2009 and was a member of the Australian Team which won the Asia Pacific Championship in Thailand in 2010. He also won the Qld Senior Championship in 2010, however his best finish in the SA Senior Championship was a second in 2013. Tony won the SA Senior Championship in 2001 and 2004 and gained selection on a number of occasions in Australian Senior Teams which play the Australian Defence Force Team on an annual basis.

The winner this year of the John Beaumont Trophy was Norm Cordina, from TTG (pictured on pg 3), for the second consecutive year. A just reward for another very consistent year. The winner of the Tony Mazzone Trophy was Chris Claxton (pictured on pg 3), from Blackwood, who again played very consistently all year.

For those who may be interested in senior events that are played across Australia, we recommend that you visit AUSOOM on the Golf Australia website. This site is edited by Denis Dale out of Sydney and he reports on all that happens in senior amateur golf in Australia. For those with the time and the interest, you can tour Australia playing in some terrific events on good courses and meeting likeminded golfers who are all out to play the best they can whilst enjoying themselves along the way.

The 2015 senior pennant season commenced on 21st September with 16 teams being split into two divisions. The split was mainly made on the basis of geography, north and south, as we had teams from as far away as Gawler, South Lakes and Victor Harbor. The pennant is in its ninth year now, and whilst Tea Tree Gully have dominated, a number of other clubs are starting to get their better senior players out there. This is great to see as the stronger the competition the better.

The winners of Section A were Tea Tree Gully (pictured on pg 4), with Blackwood in second place. The result of the division could well have been different as Tea Tree Gully escaped with a halved match against Glenelg at Blackwood, with Norm Cordina winning the 17th and 18th holes to halve his match. The other division was a very closely fought affair. Whilst The Vines were clear winners after the last round, Grange and South Lakes were locked on the same points. They could not be separated on matches won, so a count-back on holes won saw Grange take second place by the barest of margins.

This saw the final match-ups at Royal Adelaide on the 16th November, as TTG vs Grange and The Vines playing Blackwood. Both matches were extremely close all day and it was not until late in the afternoon that TTG overcame Grange 4 ½ to 2 ½. Blackwood had the same margin over the Vines so the finalists TTG and Blackwood were to play the final at Kooyonga on Monday 23rd November, whilst all other clubs competed for the plate in a team stableford events. A big thanks to Royal Adelaide for making their course available on very short notice.

The final was played on a breezy, but sunny day and going through the turn TTG had the front-running, but only just. It was early in the back nine that Ken Brown, Marty Miller, Jim Richards, Norm Cordina and John Davey were able to get the break on their opponents. Not to say there were not some anxious moments as matches ebbed and flowed over the final holes, but all the above TTG players were winners by the 17th. So TTG were winners for the ninth consecutive year of the Paradise Motors Senior Pennant Trophy. A record the team pictured below and the club can be very proud of. The team from Blackwood put up a good fight with the final result a lot closer that what the score showed.

The season was completed with a dinner at Kooyonga where trophies and awards were presented. The Paradise Motors plate was won by the Flagstaff Hill Team. A big congratulations to them with a great total of 227 pts. Below is the winning team receiving the plate from Kevin Bews of Paradise Motors.

So another year of senior golf has come to an end. The season owes its existence to the efforts of Ken Brown, Chris Everett, Chris Claxton and Tony Timmins who comprise the Senior sub-committee which reports to the GolfSA Match committee and to the Team Managers who rally the troops for pennant each season and arrange for the Club SOOM events to happen.

We look forward to 2016 and hopefully some further developments in our senior programme so that more people can enjoy the great game of golf.

To all have a safe and merry Xmas followed by a happy new year. See you all on the fairways next year.

Ken Brown

SENIOR ORDER OF MERIT 2015



(on right) Norm Cordina – Winner of the John Beaumont Trophy (Seniors) pictured with Golf SA Chair Match Committee Tony Timmins



(on right) Chris Claxton – Winner of the Tony Mazzone Trophy (Super Seniors) pictured with Golf SA Chair Match Committee Tony Timmins

SENIOR PENNANT WINNERS 2015



Team pictured below at the Final



John Davey, Phil Smith, Norm Cordina, Ken Brown, Chris Everett (Capt), Jim Richards, Marty Miller and Brett Lovell (Reserve)