

ASTOR TROPHY

AUSTRALIAN REPRESENTATIVES AND RECORDS

The Astor Trophy (known as the Commonwealth Trophy until 2011) is held once every four years between teams from Australia, Canada, Great Britain, New Zealand and South Africa. It originated when two Australian Ladies Golf Union delegates (Miss Jean Derrin and Miss Mollie McLeish) suggested to the Ladies Golf Union that a tournament should be conducted within the Commonwealth. The idea was first accepted by the LGU, and later by three other countries – Canada, South Africa and New Zealand, when they were approached in 1957.

The trophy was presented by Nancy, Viscountess Astor, CH.

Each country is represented by 5 national team players who play foursomes and singles match play in a round robin format.

Year	Winner	Score	Runner Up & Score	Australia's Pos. & Score	Venue
1959	Great Britain		-		St Andrew's GC
					Scotland
1963	Great Britain		AUSTRALIA		Royal Melbourne GC
			Burtta Cheney		Australia
			Pat Borthwick		
			Dianna Cross		
			Joan Fletcher		
			Margaret Masters		
			Judith Percy		
1967	Great Britain	+	AUSTRALIA	2 ND	Hamilton GC
1001	0.000 2		Carole Blair		Canada
			Barbara Coulson		
			Betty Dalgleish		
			Marea Hickey		
			Dianna Thomas (nee Cross)		
			Mrs M Dawson (C/M)		
1971	Great Britain	3 wins	AUSTRALIA – 4 TH (½ win)	4 TH	Hamilton GC
	M Everard		Lindy Goggin		New Zealand
	D Oxley		June Howe		
	B Robertson M Walker		Dianna Thomas		
	IVI VValker		Sandra Williams		
			Rhys Wright		
1975	Great Britain	3 wins	AUSTRALIA (2 wins)	2 ND	Ganton CC
	Julie Greenhalgh		Anne Alletson		England
	Anne Irvin		Vicki Jellis		
	Tegwin Perkins		Sandra McCaw		
	Anne Stant		Jane Lock		
			Marea Parsons		
4070	Canada	0	Joan Fletcher (C/M)	2 ND	1 -1 - 1/2 00
1979	Marlene Streit	3 wins	AUSTRALIA (2 wins) Jane Crafter	2	Lake Karrinyup GC Australia
	Michelle Guilbault		Edwina Kennedy		Australia
	Gail Moore		Jane Lock		
	Marilyn O'Connor		Sandra McCaw		
	Stacey West		Karen Permezel		
	,		Lindy Goggin (C/M)		

Year	Winner	Score	Runner Up & Score	Australia's Pos. & Score	Venue
1983	AUSTRALIA	2½ wins	Great Britain (1½ wins)	1 ST	Glendale GC
	Louise Briers		Jane Connachan		Canada
	Corinne Dibnah		Gillian Stewart		
	Lindy Goggin		Vicki Thomas		
	Diane Pavich		Jill Thornhill		
	Pauline Sanderson(C/M)		Claire Waite		
			Diane Bailey (C/M)	ND	
1987	Canada	2½ wins	AUSTRALIA (1½ wins)	2 ND	Christchurch GC
	G Anderson		Louise Briers		New Zealand
	A Bendick		Lindy Goggin		
	C Burton J Medlicott		Edwina Kennedy Ericka Maxwell		
	J Wyatt		Alison Munt		
	3 Wyatt		Pauline Sanderson (C/M)		
4004	Great Britain	2½ wins	New Zealand (1½ wins)	AUSTRALIA – 3 rd (1½ wins)	Northumberland GC
1991	Elaine Farguharson	Z/2 WIIIS	Lisa Aldridge	Louise Briers	England
	Linzi Fletcher		Jan Higgins	Wendy Doolan	Lingiand
	Julie Hall		Marnie McGuire	Sarah Gautrey	
	Catriona Lambert		Kerryn Starr	Edwina Kennedy	
	Vicki Thomas		Annette Stott	Jane Shearwood	
	Elizabeth Boatman (C/M)		Sheila Glendining (C/M)	Pauline Sanderson (C/M)	
1995	AUSTRALIA	4 wins	Great Britain (2 wins)	1 ST	Royal Sydney GC
1000	Tanya Holl	1 11110	Julie Hall		Australia
	Anne-Marie Knight		Mhairi McKay		
	Kate MacIntosh		Janice Moodie		
	Allison Wheelhouse		Alison Rose		
	Simone Williams		Lisa Walton		
	Louise Briers (C/M)		Sally Barber (C/M)		
1999	AUSTRALIA	4 wins	Great Britain (3 wins)	1 ST	Marine Drive GC
	Helen Beatty		Kim Andrew		Canada
	Tamie Durdin		Fiona Brown		
	Sandy Grimshaw		Rebecca Hudson		
	Rebecca Stevenson		Anne Laing		
	Lindsey Wright		Becky Morgan		
	Louise Briers (C/M)		Jill Edwards (C/M)		
2003	AUSTRALIA	4 wins	New Zealand (3 wins)	1 ST	Remuera GC
	Misun Cho		Enu Chung		New Zealand
	Sarah Kemp		Penny Newbrook		
	Sarah-Jane Kenyon		Sarah Nicholson		
	Rochelle Miles		Jenny Park		
	Anna Parsons Edwina Kennedy (C/M)		Stacey Tate Anna Brabyn (C/M)		
2007		2 veina		2 ND	David Johannashura CC
2007	Great Britain	3 wins	AUSTRALIA (2 wins) Emma Bennett	4	Royal Johannesburg GC South Africa
			Frances Bondad		Journ Airica
			Stephanie Na		
			Helen Oh		
			Sunny Park		
			Hayley Wilkinson (C/M)		
2011	Great Britain	4 wins	New Zealand (2½ wins)	AUSTRALIA - 4 TH (1 win)	Fairhaven GC
2011	Kelly Tidy	. *************************************	Lydia Ko	Minjee Lee	England
	Amy Boulden		Cecilia Cho	Emma de Groot	Lingiana
	Holly Clyburn		Emily Perry	Ashley Ona	
	Kelsey MacDonald		Chantelle Cassidy	Cathleen Santoso	
	Pamela Pretswell		Julianne Alvarez	Breanna Elliott	
				Shani Waugh (C/M)	
2015	Australia	4 wins	Great Britain & Ireland (2 wins)	1st	The Grange GC (West), SA
	Hannah Green		Hayley Davis		Australia
	Gennai Goodwin		Connie Jaffrey		
	Becky Kay		Bronte Law		
			I	i e	1
	Jenny Lee Shelly Shin		Charlotte Thomas Chloe Williams		