
(2017-6) Golf NSW Golf Rules Quiz - June 2017

Welcome to the Golf NSW monthly Golf Rules Quiz.

If you complete the quiz online you will receive your results and the answers at the end of the quiz. Click on the
Start button to commence the quiz. Alternatively, if you wish to complete the quiz offline, you can display and print
out a copy of the quiz using the "Golf NSW Rules Quiz" link below. 

Good luck and thank you for your interest in the Rules of Golf.
 

Q.1) In a four-ball handicap match A and B are playing opponents C and D. Player B
declares by mistake that he is playing off a handicap of 16 and the match is played on
that basis. A and B win the match. Two days later player C finds out that B should have
played off a handicap of 15 and that this would have changed the outcome of the
match. C and D wish to make a claim. What should the Committee do?

 A.

 B.
 C.

Q.2) Player A and B are playing together in a foursomes match. Player A plays their ball
from the tee and as it may be out of bounds the side decide to play a provisional ball
from the tee. Player A plays the provisional ball. Which of the following is incorrect if
the original ball is found?

 A.

 B.
 C.

Q.3) A player has the honour on the first hole and while waiting to commence his round, he
uses his 9 iron and putter to practice chipping and putting close to the 1st teeing
ground. He then asks a fellow-competitor to tell him how to play a low fade with his
driver. The advice doesn't work as the player hooks his tee shot over the boundary
fence. He tees another ball but before playing another stroke, he removes dew from
behind his ball on the teeing ground with a towel.  Apart from the stroke and distance
penalty under the Out of Bounds Rule (27-1a), how many penalty strokes has the player
incurred?

 A.
 B.
 C.

Q.4) A player is taking relief from an unplayable position. In which scenario must his ball be
re-dropped?

 A.
 B.
 C.



Q.5) When a player's ball is embedded in its own pitch-mark in any closely mown area
through the green the player is entitled to free relief. If the player decides to take relief,
which of the following is correct?

 A.

 B.

 C.

Q.6) A player’s ball comes to rest on a bridge in a hazard. Which of the following is
incorrect?

 A.

 B.

 C.

Q.7) A player putts her ball and it comes to rest near the hole. She removes the flagstick
and lets it fall to the ground. As it falls the flagstick strikes the player’s ball and the
ball moves. What is the ruling if a Local Rule is in place which eliminates the penalty
for a ball accidentally moved on the putting green?

 A.
 B.
 C.



Q.8) Wind is an outside agency.
 A.
 B.

Q.9) An interclub pennant competition is being played in very heavy rain. Which of the
following is not permitted to assist a player?

 A.
 B.

 C.

Q.10) On a course where stakes marking the margin of a lateral water hazard have been
deemed by Local Rule to be immovable, a player’s ball comes to rest outside the
hazard in a position where the player’s backswing is impeded by such a stake. The
player removes the stake. Which of the following is correct?

 A.
 B.
 C.


