FRIDAY 28TH - SUNDAY 30TH JULY 2017

2017 PORTSEA OPEN AMATEUR

72 HOLE STROKE EVENT

Ivo Whitton / Susie Tolhurst Trophy Events

Male & Female Winners will receive a conditional amateur exemption (h) into the 2018 Oates Vic Open

ENTRY FEE: \$150.00

 Round 1:
 Friday 28th July 2017
 18 Holes

 Round 2:
 Saturday 29th July 2017
 18 Holes

 Round 3 & 4:
 Sunday 30th July 2017
 36 Holes

Maximum Handicap: Men (8) & Women (12)

Entries close Wednesday 19th July 2017

Enter via www.mitournament.com





CONDITIONS OF PLAY

1. The Tournament Committee shall be responsible for the entire management of the event.

2. Maximum Handicaps are GA 8.4 for Men and GA 12.4 for Women. Handicaps as at time of entry.

3. The Portsea Open Amateur is scheduled to be played over 72 holes stroke play; 18 holes each on Friday 28th and Saturday 29th July, and 36 holes on Sunday 30th July 2017. The leading 54 men (plus ties) and 12 ladies (plus ties) after 36 holes shall qualify for the third and fourth rounds. The remaining players shall be eliminated.

4. In the event of a tie in the 72 hole gross events, a sudden death playoff over holes 1 and 18 will be held to determine the winner. In all other events, winners will be decided by a countback.

5. Entrants shall be amateurs who are members of clubs of the Association or of clubs registered with such State or Overseas Associations as are affiliated with or recognized by this Association or of clubs affiliated with the Victorian Golf League and registered Golfers and the Tournament Committee shall have the right to refuse the entry of any person without being required to give any reason for such refusal.

6. In the event that there are more entries than can be accommodated in the field a ballot for positions will be conducted amongst those players on the highest handicap at the time of entry. Exemptions exist in some cases.

7. The competition shall be played in accordance with the Rules of Golf as adopted by the Royal & Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews, Scotland, together with such Local Rules as are in force on the course over which the competition takes place.

8. If a dispute arises on any point, it shall be decided by the Tournament Committee in charge of the competition whose decisions hall be final. Provided however that the Committee if in doubt shall have the right to refer any such dispute to the Council of Golf Victoria whose decision shall then be final.

9. The Tournament Committee has the power to temporarily alter a player's Australian Handicap in accordance with the Australian Handicapping System.

10. Competitors are required to report to the starter 10 minutes prior to their hit-off time.

11. In the event of bad weather, or for any reason, the Tournament Committee may either shorten the Tournament or appoint another day for its completion.

12. Entrants shall be elected as Honorary Members of the Club for the duration of the Tournament.

13. Male and Female champions will receive a conditional amateur exemption (h) into the 2018 Oates Vic Open.

14. Soft Spikes are compulsory.

15. A copy of the draw will be posted on the Portsea Golf Club's website, www.portseagolf.com.au, by Friday 21st July. Please note that it is the responsibility of the player to obtain your hit off times.

16. No refunds for cancellations will be made after the draw is prepared.

17. PACE OF PLAY

Pace of play will be monitored by the Tournament Committee. Each round of 18 holes is to take no longer than four hours and fifteen minutes from the time the player hits off. If a player is failing to keep his place in the field and is also not adhering to the required pace of play he may be penalised in accordance with Rule 6 -7 as follows:

PLAYER INFORMATION

Meals, snacks and refreshments will be available to purchase from 7am in the clubhouse throughout the event. A light lunch for players will be provided on Sunday and is included in the entry.

This tournament is registered for World Ranking points but must have a minimum of 10 starters in each event (men's and women's) to qualify. Practice rounds available (complimentary) Monday 23rd July, Tuesday 25th July after 10.30am, Wed 26th July after 10.30am, Thu 27th July after 3pm.

Complimentary rounds only available to those players who receive a start in the tournament and ID will need to be presented on arrival. Other practice times are subject to availability by payment of relevant green fees. All rounds must be booked through the Proshop (5981 6155). Practice rounds must be played from the daily tee markers and sand buckets are to be carried. If you fail to comply you may be withdrawn from the Tournament.

FACILITIES

Competitors will be honorary members for the duration of the event and may use the Clubhouse and Locker Room facilities. Clubhouse Practice facilities are limited to nets, chipping/bunker green and putting green (no practice fairway). The Mercure Portsea Golf Club is offering players special rates on accommodation for Thursday-Sunday nights. \$159.00 Bed and Breakfast Standard Rooms (per night) \$189.00 Superior and Breakfast Golf View Rooms (per night) Accommodation enquiries & bookings (03) 5981 6100 (MUST QUOTE "OPEN AMATEUR")

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS

ROUND 1 - Friday 28th July 18 Holes Seeded Draw (am & pm fields) Separate Women's & Men's Competitions

ROUND 2 - Saturday 29th July

18 Holes

Seeded Draw

(am & pm fields)

Separate Women's & Men's Competitions

ROUND 3 & 4 - Sunday 30th July

36 Holes (7:30am & 12:30pm Shotgun Starts) Separate Women's & Men's Competitions

PORTSEA OPEN - Friday 28th – Sunday 30th July

72 Holes

Separate Women's & Men's Competitions

PREVIOUS WINNERS

K. Pratt

N. Holman

T. Sinnott

T. Horan

K. Michel

D. Brereton

T. Power-Horan

2010

2011

2012

2013

2014

2015

2016

MEN

1980	A. Bullas
1981	A.Lehner
1982	M.Abeyaratne
1983	M.Smyth
1984	P.Moloney
1985	M.Wishart
1986	D.Diaz
1987	B.Hughes
1988	P.Moloney
1989	J.Wade

1990	J.Beveridge
1991	D.Armstrong
1992	J.Beveridge
1993	P.Fitzgibbon
1994	J.McCallum
1995	G.Ogilvy
1996	A.Webster
1997	C.Percy
1998	C.Percy
1999	J.Wallis

2000	M.Fraser
2001	J.Sutherland
2002	P.O'Dwyer
2003	A.Tampion
2004	D.Walker
2005	D.Walker
2006	A. Martin
2007	D. Beckmann
2008	J.McMillan
2009	J. Beveridge

WOMEN

2013	B. Lim
2014	J. Charlton
2015	G. Daniell
2016	O. Kline