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Welcome to the Golf NSW monthly Golf Rules Quiz.

If you complete the quiz online you will receive your results and the answers at the end of the quiz. Click on the
Start button to commence the quiz. Alternatively, if you wish to complete the quiz offline, you can display and print
out a copy of the quiz using the "Golf NSW Rules Quiz" link below.

Good luck and thank you for your interest in the Rules of Golf.

Q.1) Mike hit his ball into an area of dense trees and scrub where it could not be seen. While Mike
was searching for his ball he saw a bird flying away with a ball in its mouth. Which of the
following is INCORRECT?

A Mike may assume that his ball has been moved by an outside agency and drop a ball, without penalty, as
' near as possible to where he believes it would have come to rest

B. If Mike cannot find his ball within five minutes of commencing the search for it, then it is lost

c Mike may only treat the ball as having been moved by an outside agency if it is known or virtually certain

that the bird took his ball

Q.2) Steven hits his tee shot and it is heading towards an area where it may be lost or out of bounds.
He hits a provisional ball. When he gets closer to where the original ball may lie he realises that
he would not want to play from that location so he discontinues the search, declares it lost and
proceeds to his provisional ball. Before he plays the provisional ball and within five minutes of
the search commencing for the original ball, a spectator finds Stephen’s original ball. Which of
the following is CORRECT?

A. Once Stephen declared the original ball lost, his provisional ball became the ball in play
B. Stephen must continue play with the original ball
C. If Stephen now declares his original ball unplayable, he can continue play with the provisional ball

Q.3) In determining the nearest point of relief, a player may use any club to simulate the address
position, direction of play and swing for his next stroke.

A. True
B. False

Q.4) Mary’s tee shot landed on a piece of paper in a lateral water hazard. She lifted her ball, cleaned
it, removed the paper and then dropped her ball as near as possible to where the ball originally
lay. She then played a stroke from within the hazard that landed out of bounds. Mary then went
back to the tee and played her next stroke from there. This time the ball landed in a fairway
bunker. On her back swing she touched a piece of matting in the bunker which had become
exposed. Her ball landed on the green and she took one putt to complete the hole. What is
Mary’s score for the hole?

A. 7
B. 8
C. 9
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Q.5) Which of the following is CORRECT?

A. A player may have her caddy protect her with an umbrella while she is playing a stroke
B. A player may hold an umbrella to protect herself while making a stroke
C. An umbrella held by a player is not part of the player’s equipment

Q.6) In a medal competition, Tiffany assumed that her tee shot, which travelled approximately 150
metres, had come to rest in an area of ground under repair without knowledge or virtual
certainty that that was the case. She could not locate the ball. She dropped a ball where she
thought her original ball lay and proceeded to play with that ball. What is the ruling?

A. Tiffany has proceeded correctly and incurs no penalty

B Tiffany is penalised two strokes for playing from a wrong place and may continue play with the
’ substituted ball
Tiffany’s ball was lost and she must proceed by returning to the tee and playing her next stroke from

c. there. She incurs a total of three penalty strokes

Q.7) Which of the following statements is INCORRECT?

A. Dew and frost may be removed on the putting green if they are on the line of putt
B. Dew and frost may be removed on the teeing ground
C. Snow may be removed on the putting green if itis on the line of putt
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Q.8) Brian hit his ball and it came to rest in fellow-competitor’'s bag on a teeing ground. — see
picture. How should Brian proceed?

A. Brianhould d the nearet point ofreliefan drop a I witin one cIub-Igth othat place and not

nearer the hole

B. Brian should remove the ball from the buggy, move the buggy and drop the ball within one club-length of
where itlay in the buggy and not nearer the hole

C. Brian should remove the ball from the buggy, move the buggy and drop the ball as near as possible to

the spot directly under the place where the ball lay in the buggy and not nearer the hole

Q.9) In some situations, a player in taking relief from an abnormal ground condition or immovable
obstruction when his ball lies in the rough, may be permitted to drop the ball on the fairway.
A. True
B. False

Q.70) Sandra makes a stroke at her ball from on the putting green. It is deflected by a worm and falls
into the hole. What is the ruling?

A The ball has been deflected by an outside agency so Sandra must replay her stroke from where she
played her previous stroke on the putting green

B. Sandra must place the ball at the place where her ball was deflected and continue play from there
C. The ball is holed
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