# 2017 VICTORIAN MEN'S SENIOR ORDER OF MERIT

DOUG BACHLI & PAUL LULOFS
TROPHY PRESENTATION



#### Victorian Men's Senior Order of Merit

- ▶ 12<sup>th</sup> year started in 2006
- 2631 total participants (826 individuals) from Victoria, Interstate & Overseas
- Golf Victoria has actively supported the program since it's induction within the full calendar of over 100 events and 200 days of competition.





#### 2017 GV Senior Team v ADFGA



- GV Senior Team 10 ADFGA 8
- Team Members
  - Tony Hyde (Patterson River)
  - Steve Valentine (Kew)
  - Ross Percy (Cobram-Barooga)
  - John Kelly (Metropolitan)
  - Ray Walker (Gardiners Run)
  - Guy Krall (The National)
  - Rob Wallace (Midlands)
  - ► Ken O'Brien (Rossdale)
  - Frank Palinkas (Woodlands)
  - Alan Bullas (Portsea)
  - Mark Abeyaratne (Peninsula-Kingswood)

**Golf** Victoria

#### Notable National Senior Achievements



**Greg Rhodes (Coomealla)**Australian Men's Senior Amateur Champion



lan Frost, Kym Olsen, Greg Rhodes & Gordon Claney
Australian Men's Senior Interstate Stroke Teams Event Champions



Gordon Claney (Kingston Heath) Leading Amateur – NSW Senior Open



Gordon Claney (Kingston Heath)
Gold Coast Senior Classic (Defended Title)
& Tied Winner NSW Senior Classic



Greg Rhodes (Coomealla)

NT Senior Amateur

Champion



Gordon Claney, Kym Olsen, Ian Frost & Greg Rhodes Asia-Pacific Senior Amateur Champions



### \$10,143.25

\$2 donation from each entry fee by host clubs

Individual NTP Gold Coin donation for Nearest the Pin competitions at each event

THANK YOU to all for your support!!



GOLF fore a cause



# 2018 Victorian Senior Program

## Additions & Changes

- National Senior Masters (April 10-12)
- Royal Melbourne Senior Classic reduced to 36 holes and moved to August 27
- Addition of Yarrawonga Senior Amateur August 2 – August 3 (Black Bull & Yarrawonga)
- Yarra Courses Jan 22nd (The Heritage)
- ► Lang Lang moved to Oct 5<sup>th</sup>
- Port Fairy & Warrnambool dates moved (13-16 November)
- Victorian Men's & Women's Senior Amateur
   10-12 September at Shepparton & Hilltop
- Northern has been discontinued



#### Doug Bachli Trophy - Background

- The Doug Bachli Trophy is awarded in memory of the late Doug Bachli to the Senior Men's player with the best overall stroke performance.
  - In 1954, Bachli famously came from behind at Muirfield to upstage American Walker Cup player Bill Campbell, to become the first Australian to win the British Amateur Championship (until Bryden McPherson's recent victory in 2011).





#### Paul Lulofs Trophy - Background

- The Paul Lulofs Trophy was renamed in 2014 and is awarded in memory of the late Paul Lulofs to the Senior Men's player with the best overall nett performance.
  - Lulofs was a founding father of Australian Seniors Golf, being a Victorian delegate at the inaugural Howlong Conference in 2005.





TOURNAMENT	GROSS WINNER	NETT WINNER
2016 Sorrento Senior Amateur	<b>Mark Stanford</b> (The National)	<b>Lindsay Brown</b> (Woodlands)
2016 Victorian Senior Club Teams Championship	<b>Kew</b> Pancho De Neefe, Steve Valentine & Mark Brasher	<b>Bendigo</b> Stan Davis, Barry Miles & Ian Doak
Keysborough Senior Amateur	<b>John Owen</b> (Barwon Heads)	Peter Buff (Yering Meadows)
Royal Melbourne Senior Classic	Greg Rhodes (Coomealla)	David Taylor (Commonwealth)



TOURNAMENT	GROSS WINNER	NETT WINNER
Varran Carraga Saniar Arandara	Gavin Duncan	Denzil Comerord
Yarra Courses Senior Amateur	(Heidelberg)	(Heidelberg)
Sout Coast Souton American	Kym Olsen	William Burnett
Surf Coast Senior Amateur	(The National)	(The Sands)
Kaaringal Saniar American	lan Frost	Paul Gooley
Kooringal Senior Amateur	(Bendigo)	(Chirnside Park)
Cardinara Bun Saniar Amadaur	Kym Olsen	Keith Finkelde
Gardiners Run Senior Amateur	(The National)	(Latrobe)
Cramballyna Saniar Amarkally	Gordon Claney	Paul Fink
Cranbourne Senior Amateur	(Kingston Heath)	(Racv)



TOURNAMENT	GROSS WINNER	NETT WINNER
Alpine Senior Masters	Gordon Claney (Kingston Heath)	<b>Bill Black</b> (Rutherglen)
Mornington Peninsula Senior Amateur	<b>Kim Johnspn</b> (The National)	Ignatius Duivenvoorden (Yarram)
The National Senior Masters Championship	<b>Kym Olsen</b> (The National)	<b>Rex Suckling</b> (Belmont - NSW)
Eureka Senior Amateur	<b>Kym Olsen</b> (The National)	lan Corcoran (Buninyong)

TOURNAMENT	GROSS WINNER	NETT WINNER
Day IIII Caniar American	Doug Francis	Chris Clark
Box Hill Senior Amateur	(Metropolitan)	(Gunnamatta)
Calarana Dana ana Saniar Amarkana	Gordon Claney	Graeme Brierley
Cobram Barooga Senior Amateur	(Kingston Heath)	(Clifton Springs)
Hamburg Coningra Caning Amanday	lan Frost	John Hoare
Hepburn Springs Senior Amateur	(Bendigo)	(Pakenham)
Hardle and Carley Arrada	Stan Davis	Shayne Hearps
Heathcote Senior Amateur	(Bendigo)	(Heywood)
Shepparton Senior Amateur	David Robb	Ray Falla
Tournament	(Corowa)	(Nathalia)

TOURNAMENT	GROSS WINNER	NETT WINNER	
To oursel Conior American	David Robb	Patrick MItchell	
Tocumwal Senior Amateur	(Corowa)	(Eastern)	
Coomagila Soniar Open Amateur	Chris Tatt	Stan Prymke	
Coomealla Senior Open Amateur	(Buninyong)	(Coomealla)	
Yarra Yarra 'Ray Barned'	Gordon Claney	Steve Pettyfor	
Senior Amateur	(Kingston Heath)	(Eastwood)	
Vingston Hogth Soniar Ametour	John Owen	Merv Same	
Kingston Heath Senior Amateur	(Barwon Heads)	(Huntingdale)	
Commonwealth Senior Amateur	Gordon Claney	Rowen Easterbrook	
	(Kingston Heath)	(Oatlands)	

TOURNAMENT	GROSS WINNER	NETT WINNER
Violatia CC Saniar Amarka	John Kelly	Peter Duscher
Victoria GC Senior Amateur	(Metropolitan)	(Coomealla)
AA a ku a ya a lishaya Dhasha	lan Frost	Paul Fink
Metropolitan Plate	(Rich River)	(Racv)
Devel Mallacoma Carrian Amandacon	Adam Charleston	Stuart Allen
Royal Melbourne Senior Amateur	(Lonsdale)	(Peninsula-Kingswood)
Danding Canias Assaulass	Chris Tatt	Gerard O'Sullivan
Bendigo Senior Amateur	(Buninyong)	(Bendigo)
Violeniam Comica American	Doug Francis	Guy Krall
Victorian Senior Amateur	(Metropolitan)	(The National)

TOURNAMENT	GROSS WINNER	NETT WINNER
Lana Lana Sonior Amatour	lan Frost	Paul Williams
Lang Lang Senior Amateur	(Rich River)	(Kew)
Nouthous Conics Assertans	Tom Harold	Keith Finkelde
Northern Senior Amateur	(Darwin-NT)	(Latrobe)
Adalbarra Saniar Claraia	Ken O'Brien	lan Fraser
Melbourne Senior Classic	(Rossdale)	(Huntingdale)
AA alla a Walla Gaada Aasala a	Barry Tippett	Butch Ridgeway
Melton Valley Senior Amateur	(Barwon Heads)	(Melton Valley)



TOURNAMENT	GROSS WINNER	NETT WINNER
Warrnambool Senior Amateur	Kym Olsen (The National)	Chris Keeshan (Centenary Park)
Moyne Senior Classic	Gordon Claney (Kingston Heath)	Henk Van De Ven (Howlong)





# 2017 Victorian Men's Senior Order of Merit

**Trophy Winners** 

#### Hole-in-one!

George Kotaridis

Warrnambool 9<sup>th</sup> hole







#### AGE CATEGORY

# BACHLI & LULOFS WINNERS



AGE CATEGORY	BACHLI	LULOFS
55-59	Kym Olsen (The National)	John Kelly (Metropolitan)
60-64	Gordon Claney (Kingston Heath)	Keith Finkelde (Latrobe)
65-69	Malcolm Barnes (Neangar Park)	Ignatius Duivenvoorden (Yarram)
70+	Jeff Hasthorpe (Trafalgar)	Wayne Aigner (Sandhurst)



## PAUL LULOFS TROPHY

65+ Results



POSITION	PLAYER	POINTS
THIRD PLACE	Wayne Aigner (Sandhurst)	1035
RUNNER-UP	Malcolm Barnes (Neangar Park)	1207
WINNER	Ignatius Duivenvoorden (Yarram)	1510



## DOUG BACHLI TROPHY

65+ Results



POSITION	PLAYER	POINTS
THIRD PLACE	Greg Welsh (Colac)	1251
RUNNER-UP	David Robb (Corowa)	1457
WINNER	Malcolm Barnes (Neangar Park)	1868



#### PAUL LULOFS TROPHY

#### **Overall Results**



POSITION	PLAYER	POINTS
THIRD PLACE	Keith Finkelde (Latrobe)	1446
RUNNER-UP	Ignatius Duivenvoorden (Yarram)	1510
WINNER	John Kelly (Metropolitan)	1522



### DOUG BACHLI TROPHY

#### **Overall Results**



POSITION	PLAYER	POINTS
THIRD PLACE	Ian Frost (Bendigo)	2543
RUNNER-UP	Kym Olsen (The National)	2670
WINNER	Gordon Claney (Kingston Heath)	2733

#### **CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL WINNERS!**





# THANK YOU! For your continued support of Senior golf in Victoria.