Welcome to the monthly Golf Rules Quiz - February 2018
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If you complete the quiz online you will receive your results and the answers at the end of the quiz. Click on the Start button
to commence the quiz. Alternatively, if you wish to complete the quiz offline, you can display and print out a copy of the quiz
using the "Golf NSW Rules Quiz" link below.

Good luck and thank you for your interest in the Rules of Golf.

Q.1) Casts made by a worm (see picture) are loose impediments and may be moved, true or
false?

True

False

Q.2) A player is playing in a match and after she hits her ball it is deflected by her bag. What

penalty does the player incur?
A One stroke
Two strokes

Loss of hole
Q.3) A player is playing in a match and his caddie accidentally drops his putter and it

deflects his opponent’s ball which is in motion after a stroke on the putting green.
What penalty does the player incur?

No penalty
B. One stroke
C. Loss of hole

Q.4) A player is deemed to have addressed his ball when he has grounded his club
immediately in front of or immediately behind the ball whether or not he has taken his
stance, true or false?

True

False



Q.5) A player hits their ball toward a large area of ground under repair and it is virtually
certain that the ball is in the GUR but the player is unable to find it. How may the player

proceed?

A The ball is lost and the player must return to the place from where the previous stroke was played

and play from there under penalty of one stroke.

The player must estimate where the ball would have come to rest and drop a ball within one club-
length and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief outside the GUR.

If the player chooses to take relief from the GUR, he or she must first determine where the ball last
crossed the margin of the GUR. Then, using this as the reference point, the player must drop a ball

within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief.

Q.6) Which of the following is incorrect?

A A ball may be deemed unplayable anywhere except in a hazard.

B. .
A marker is not a referee.

A player must take relief from a wrong putting green when he is required to stand on the putting

green to play a stroke at a ball which is on the fringe.

Q.7) A player’s ball comes to rest on a cart path. The nearest point of relief lies on the left-
hand side of the path where there is a dense coverage of bushes. Which of the

following is correct?

A In equity the player can drop the ball without penalty on the side of the path which is free of

bushes.

If the player picks up the ball and then decides they want to play it from the path the player can

replace the ball on the path incurring a penalty of one stroke.

The player’s only option is to drop the ball at the nearest point of relief not nearer the hole in the

bushes

Q.8) Which of the following situations incur a penalty of one stroke?

A A player’s ball in play is accidentally moved by his sunglasses when they fall off his head

B. A player’s club touches the ball without moving it in the act of addressing the ball

A player’s club touches a plant growing in a water hazard on his backswing

Q.9) A player plays a tee shot and it comes to rest under some leaves in a bunker. As a
result of the player moving some leaves to identify the ball, the ball moves. The player
plays the ball from its new position and it lands on the green. The player takes one
further stroke to complete the hole. The player’s score for the hole is?

A. 3
B4
C. 5

Q.10) A player’s ball lies in a lateral water hazard. Which of the following is correct?
The player is entitled to relief without penalty from an immovable obstruction such as a wall or
steps in the lateral water hazard but relief must be taken in the hazard.
A ball lying on the red hazard line is not in the hazard.
If a player plays a ball from within the lateral water hazard and it stays in the hazard, the player has
an option to drop the ball within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than where the ball last

crossed the margin of the hazard adding a penalty of one stroke to their score.



