Welcome to the monthly Golf Rules Quiz - March 2018
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If you complete the quiz online you will receive your results and the answers at the end of the quiz. Click on the Start button
to commence the quiz. Alternatively, if you wish to complete the quiz offline, you can display and print out a copy of the quiz
using the "Golf NSW Rules Quiz" link below.

Good luck and thank you for your interest in the Rules of Golf.

Q.1) A player’s ball lands near an unlocked hinged gate that is part of the boundary fence
for the course. The ball is not out of bounds, but the player cannot make a stroke at
the ball due to interference by the fence and gate. Observing that the gate is not
locked, the player opens the gate thus making it possible to play the ball. The player is
careful to stand inside the course boundary while making the stroke. What is the
ruling?

A There is no penalty as the player stood in bounds while making the stroke

B. The player incurs a penalty of one stroke for moving part of the boundary fence

C. . . .
The player incurs a penalty of two strokes for opening the gate to facilitate the stroke

Q.2) A player’s ball lands on the fairway in an area of casual water. The player marks the
position of the ball, lifts it without cleaning it and then sets about determining the
nearest point of relief away from the casual water. The nearest point of relief is in very
long grass where the ball, when dropped, would be impossible to play. The player
decides to replace the ball where it was lifted from and continues play from that spot.
What is the ruling?

A The player has proceeded correctly and no penalty applies because the player did not clean the

ball
The player incurs a penalty of two strokes for playing from a wrong place

The player incurs a penalty of one stroke for lifting a ball in play

Q.3) During a match play event player A’s ball was just short of the green and had
accumulated a large lump of mud that would affect the next stroke. The opponent,
player B was further from the green in such a position that player A’s ball interfered
with B’s next stroke. Player A was asked to mark and lift the ball. This was done
correctly, and the ball was placed to one side to comply with the requirement not to
clean the ball. Even though player A had placed the ball well off to one side, player B
did not like the ball in his vision and knocked the ball further away towards player A. In
the process the mud was removed from the ball. After player B played, player A
replaced the ball (minus the mud) and completed the hole. Which of the following is
correct?

No penalty
Player B incurred a one stroke penalty for moving player A’s ball.

Player A incurred a one stroke penalty for not reconstructing the mud on the ball.



Q.4) During a match a player tees their ball up using two conforming 3-inch tees, stacked on
top of each other to help hit the ball higher. What is the ruling? (Refer Photo)

The player incurs a penalty of one stroke

The player incurs a penalty of loss of hole

The player is disqualified

Q.5) In a stroke play competition, a player missed a short putt and then holed the ball using
the wrong end of the putter. What is the ruling?

A The player incurs a penalty of one stroke.
B. The player incurs a penalty of two strokes.
C.

The player is disqualified.

Q.6) A player plays from the teeing ground and after a brief search for the ball, returns to
the teeing ground and tees another ball. The original ball is found within the five-
minute search period and before the player has made a stroke at the teed ball. Is the
following statement correct? "When the player teed the second ball, it became the ball

in play and the original ball was deemed to be lost.”

A.
Yes

B. No

Q.7) A player’s ball comes to rest in an area of casual water during a stroke round. When
the player retrieves the ball, it has a lump of mud on it so the player decides to drop a
different ball within one club-length of the casual water and not nearer the hole. The

player then proceeds to play that ball. What is the ruling?
A The player is penalised one stroke.
The player is penalised two strokes.

The player is disqualified.



Q.8)

Q.9)

Q.10)

A player is playing in a stroke round and plays from the teeing ground and the ball
comes to rest in a water hazard. The player plays their next stroke from the water
hazard and this ball comes to rest out of bounds. The player then plays their next
stroke from the teeing ground and the ball lands on the green. The player putts the ball
and it strikes the flagstick which is lying on the ground. The player then plays their ball
from where it came to rest after being deflected by the flagstick and it falls in to the
hole. The player’s score for the hole is?

A. 7
B. 8
C. 9

In some situations, a player in taking relief from an abnormal ground condition or
immovable obstruction when their ball lies in the rough, may be permitted to drop the
ball on the fairway.

A.
True

False

A player hits their ball into an area of dense trees and scrub where it cannot be seen.
While the player searches for their ball they see a bird flying away with a ball in its
mouth. Which of the following is incorrect?
A The player may assume that their ball has been moved by an outside agency and drop a ball,
without penalty, as near as possible to where they believe it would have come to rest.
If the player cannot find their ball within five minutes of commencing the search for it, then it is lost.

The player may only treat the ball as having been moved by an outside agency if it is known or

virtually certain that the bird took their ball.



