

History & Honour Roll -

Australian Women's Interstate Teams Matches

History

The first annual intercolonial match saw Victoria (players from Geelong and Royal Melbourne Golf Clubs) play Royal Sydney (members). It was played in Sydney in 1897 and was won by Victoria.

Interstate matches continued from 1906 to 1939 and from 1947.

In 1933, following her death, the series became the Gladys Hay Memorial Cup in honour of Miss Hay (to perpetuate her great contribution to the game both as an administrator (Foundation Member of the ALGU and Council Member 1921-23) and player (Australian Champion 1922).

Each team consists of six players, with four players taking part in the two foursomes, and five players involved in the singles.

In 2011 the foursomes matches were removed which each team contesting singles matches only. At the conclusion of the five singles rounds, teams one and two play each other in a final to determine the winner.

From 2007, the Women's, Men's and Colts Interstate Teams Matches were played concurrently in the same city.

Gladys Hay

Gladys Hay was the winner of the last Victorian Championship before World War 1 (1914) and the first after it (1920 and 1921). It is considered that the war detracted from Gladys gaining an even more impressive record. She was very committed to the establishment of associate golf at her own club, Metropolitan in Melbourne, and was a prominent administrator who became widely recognised as an authority on the Rules of the game.

Honour Roll & Venue - Australian Women's Interstate Teams Matches

Year	Champion	Venue
2019	New South Wales	Royal Hobart GC, TAS
2018	New South Wales	Glenelg GC, SA
2017	Victoria	Royal Fremantle GC, WA
2016	Queensland	Royal Queensland GC, QLD
2015	Victoria	Royal Melbourne GC, VIC
2014	Western Australia	Gungahlin Lakes GC, ACT
2013	Victoria	Royal Hobart GC, TAS
2012	Western Australia	West Lakes GC, SA



Year	Champion	Venue
2011	Western Australia	The Western Australian Golf Club, WA
2010	Victoria & Queensland	McLeod CC, QLD
2009	New South Wales	Peninsula CGC (North Course), VIC
2008	New South Wales	Pymble GC, NSW
2007	Queensland	Barwon Heads GC, VIC
2006	South Australia	Devonport GC, TAS
2005	Western Australia	Royal Fremantle GC, WA
2004	New South Wales	McLeod GC, QLD
2003	New South Wales	Victoria GC, VIC
2002	Queensland	Royal Adelaide GC, SA
2001	New South Wales	Ryde-Parramatta GC, NSW
2000	New South Wales	Tasmania GC, TAS
1999	New South Wales	Western Australian GC, WA
1998	Queensland	Brisbane GC, QLD
1997	Western Australia	Commonwealth GC, VIC
1996	Victoria	Grange GC, SA
1995	Queensland	Steelworks GC, NSW
1994	Victoria	Cottesloe GC, WA
1993	Queensland	Royal Queensland GC, QLD
1992	New South Wales	Glenelg GC, SA
1991	New South Wales	Royal Melbourne GC, VIC
1990	New South Wales	Tasmania GC, TAS
1989	Western Australia	Mt Lawley GC, WA
1988	New South Wales	The Australian GC, NSW
1987	Queensland	Indooroopilly GC, QLD
1986	New South Wales	Grange GC East Course, SA
1985	New South Wales	Peninsula GC, VIC
1984	New South Wales	Royal Hobart GC, TAS
1983	New South Wales	Melville Glades GC, WA
1982	Queensland	Yowani CC, ACT
1981	Victoria	Southport GC, QLD
1980	Victoria	Yarra Yarra GC, VIC
1979	Victoria	Glenelg GC, SA
1978	New South Wales	Tasmania GC, TAS
1977	New South Wales	Royal Perth GC, WA
1976	New South Wales	Royal Sydney GC, NSW



Year	Champion	Venue
1975	Victoria	Indooroopilly GC, QLD
1974	New South Wales	Kooyonga GC, SA
1973	Victoria	Metropolitan GC, VIC
1972	New South Wales	Barwon heads GC, VIC
1971	New South Wales	Mt Lawley GC, SA
1970	New South Wales	Pymble GC, NSW
1969	New South Wales	Royal Hobart GC, Tas
1968	New South Wales	Royal Queensland GC, Qld
1967	New South Wales	Royal Adelaide GC, SA
1966	New South Wales	Kingston Heath GC, VIC
1965	New South Wales	Royal Perth GC, WA
1964	Victoria	Kingston Beach GC, Tas
1963	New South Wales	Royal Sydney GC, NSW
1962	Queensland	Glenelg GC, SA
1961	Victoria	Royal Queensland GC, Qld
1960	Victoria	Royal Sydney GC, NSW
1959	New South Wales	Royal Perth GC, WA
1958	Victoria	Royal Melbourne GC, (West Course), VIC
1957	Victoria	Royal Adelaide GC, SA
1956	Queensland	Kingston Beach GC, Tas
1955	New South Wales	The Australian GC, NSW
1954	Queensland	Brisbane GC, Qld
1953	New South Wales	Royal Perth GC, WA
1952	Victoria	Kingston Heath GC, VIC
1951	Queensland	Kooyonga GC, SA
1950	New South Wales	Royal Queensland GC, QLD
1949	New South Wales	Royal Sydney GC, NSW
1948	Victoria	Commonwealth GC, VIC
1947	New South Wales	Royal Adelaide GC, SA
1940-1946	Not Played	
1939	Victoria	Kooyonga GC, SA
1938	Victoria	The Australian GC, NSW
1937	Victoria	Metropolitan GC, VIC
1936	South Australia	Royal Adelaide GC, SA
1935	New South Wales	Royal Melbourne GC, VIC
1934	New South Wales	Royal Sydney, NSW



Year	Champion	Venue
1933	Victoria	Victoria GC, VIC