
 
 

 
Playing the signature par four, 15th hole at Narooma Golf Club, a member of Greg’s playing 

group hit his second shot through the green – his ball landed in the rough, just short of a 

red penalty area. 
 

Imagine his surprise when he found his ball sitting perfectly on top of an abandoned ball! 

 
Greg has been a regular golfer for over 50 years and has never come across a situation like 

it before. As Greg says, “golf always brings up the unexpected”. 

 

 

 
 

NOTE: For the rule’s enthusiasts, the ruling on this situation is as follows: 

 
As the other ball was an abandoned ball, Greg’s playing partner is entitled to free relief 

under Rule 15.2 as the abandoned ball is considered a moveable obstruction. 

 
If the other ball was another players ball in play, then the players involved would be 

entitled to relief under Rule 15.3b. 

 

 
  


