

History & Honour Roll –

Australian Junior Interstate Teams Matches

History

The Australian Junior Interstate Teams Matches is Australia's premier junior amateur team golf championships and in 2021 changed to a mixed team format.

Each State is now represented by up to ten players, 5 girls and 5 boys, who contest singles match play in a round robin format where eight players (4 girls and 4 boys) contest each round.

The team at the top of the ladder at the end of the round-robin matches will be the winners and respecting the history of the events, teams will also compete for separate girls' and boys' trophies.

Honour Roll & Venue - Australian Junior Interstate Teams Matches

Year	Champion	Venue
2024	New South Wales	Royal Fremantle GC, WA
2023	New South Wales	Ulverstone GC, TAS
2022	New South Wales	Mt. Osmond GC, SA
2021	Not played	Queanbeyan GC, ACT



Australian Girls' Junior Interstate History

In 1977 the Junior Interstate Handicap Matches were initiated for competition between State Junior Teams of two players under 21 years of age.

In 1986 the trophy was named the Burtta Cheney Cup and the format changed to a team of four players until 1993 when each team consisted of six players under the age of 18. Between 2002 and 2005 the competition was played as 18-hole medal matches but reverted to match play in 2006.

From 2007 onwards, all matches were played as scratch match play – previous to that, players five and six contested handicap match play.

Miss Burtta Cheney

Between 1949 and 1963, Miss Cheney was the captain of teams that competed for the Tasman Cup and Commonwealth Tournament. Burtta Cheney was also a player in those same events on numerous occasions.

In a long career as a player, Miss Cheney won the 1957 Australian Amateur Championship at Royal Adelaide Golf Club. Miss Cheney was also a member of the ALGU Council for various periods between 1947 and 1983, and the ALGU Vice-President between 1977 and 1979.

The ALGU is indebted to Miss Cheney who through a generous donation in 1987, endowed the trophies for winners of the interstate matches. In the same year, the ALGU Council sought her permission for the trophy to be named the Burtta Cheney Cup.

Australian Boys' Interstate History

The first Australian Boys' Interstate Teams Matches was played in 1958.

The original competing teams were NSW and Victoria; South Australia joined in 1960. In 1961 all states contested the event. New Zealand was invited to join the series in 1975.

The Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory joined the competition in 2000, while New Zealand last competed in the event in 1997.

Each team contests singles match play in a round robin format, with each team comprising six (6) team members (one team member is rested in each contest).

Honour Roll & Venue – Australian Girls' & Boys' Interstate Teams Matches

Year	Girls' Champion	Venue	Boys' Champion	Venue
2024	Queensland	Royal Fremantle GC, WA	New South Wales	Royal Fremantle GC, WA
2023	New South Wales	Ulverstone GC, TAS	Queensland	Ulverstone GC, TAS
2022	Western Australia	Mt. Osmond GC, SA	New South Wales	Mt. Osmond GC, SA
2021	Not Played		Not Played	
2020	Not Played		Not Played	



Year	Girls' Champion	Venue	Boys' Champion	Venue
2019	Victoria	City GC Toowoomba, QLD	New South Wales	Sanctuary Cove GC (Palms), QLD
2018	Western Australia	Royal Perth GC, WA	Queensland	Hartfield GC, WA
2017	New South Wales	Port Kembla GC, NSW	Western Australia	Riverside Oaks GC, NSW
2016	New South Wales	Devonport GC, TAS	SA & New South Wales	Ulverstone GC, TAS
2015	Victoria	Fleurieu GC, SA	Victoria	Links Lady Bay GC, SA
2014	Queensland	Yering Meadows GC, VIC	Victoria	Heritage GCC, VIC
2013	Queensland	Western Australia GC, WA	Queensland	Bunbury GC, WA
2012	Queensland	Carbrook GC, QLD	South Australia	Pacific Harbour GC, QLD
2011	Queensland	Pacific Dunes GC, NSW	New South Wales	Cabramatta GC, NSW
2010	New South Wales	Ulverstone GC, TAS	New South Wales	Launceston GC, TAS
2009	Queensland	Alice Springs GC, NT	New South Wales	Alice Springs GC, NT
2008	Queensland	Nudgee GC, QLD	Victoria	Peninsula CGC (North), VIC
2007	Victoria	Ulverstone GC, TAS	New South Wales	Royal Perth GC, WA
2006	Queensland	Southern GC, VIC	Queensland	City GC Toowoomba, QLD
2005	Western Australia	Glenelg GC, SA	South Australia	Thirteenth Beach GC, VIC
2004	Queensland	Mandurah GC, WA	Queensland	Gungahlin Lakes GC, ACT
2003	Western Australia	Long Reef GC, NSW	New South Wales	Mowbray GC, TAS
2002	Western Australia	Brisbane GC, QLD	Queensland	Grange GC (West), SA
2001	Queensland	Riverside GC, TAS	New South Wales	Cottesloe GC, WA
2000	New South Wales	Keysborough GC, VIC	NSW & Western Australia	Nudgee GC, QLD
1999	Queensland	The Grange GC, SA	New South Wales	Latrobe GC, VIC
1998	Queensland	Royal Fremantle GC, WA	New South Wales	Bathurst GC, NSW
1997	New South Wales	Bonnie Doon GC, NSW	New South Wales	Alice Springs GC, NT
1996	Queensland	Indooroopilly GC, QLD	Victoria	Riverside GC, Tas
1995	Queensland	Royal Hobart GC, TAS	Queensland	Grange GC (West), SA
1994	Queensland	Royal Adelaide GC, SA	Victoria	Royal Fremantle GC, WA
1993	Queensland	Peninsula CGC, VIC	Queensland	Indooroopilly GC, Qld
1992	Queensland	Cottesloe GC, WA	New Zealand	Ryde-Parramatta GC, NSW
1991	Queensland	Royal Queensland GC, QLD	Victoria	Grange GC (West), SA
1990	Queensland	New South Wales GC, NSW	New Zealand	Commonwealth GC, VIC
1989	New South Wales	Royal Hobart GC, TAS	New Zealand	Launceston GC, TAS
1988	Queensland	Glenelg GC, SA	Western Australia	Bunbury GC, WA
1987	New South Wales	Woodlands GC, VIC	Western Australia	Brisbane GC, QLD
1986	Western Australia	Royal Perth GC, WA	Queensland	New South Wales GC, NSW
1985	QLD & Western Australia	Peninsula CGC, VIC	Western Australia	Grange GC, SA
1984	Victoria	Royal Hobart GC, TAS	Western Australia	Metropolitan GC, VIC
1983	South Australia	Melville Glades GC, WA	South Australia	Bunbury GC, WA



Year	Girls' Champion	Venue	Boys' Champion	Venue
1982	New South Wales	Yowani CC, ACT	New South Wales	Indooroopilly GC, QLD
1981	New South Wales	Southport GC, QLD	New Zealand	Claremont GC, WA
1980	South Australia	Yarra Yarra GC, VIC	New South Wales	New South Wales GC, NSW
1979	VIC & New South Wales	Glenelg GC, SA	Victoria	Kooyonga GC, SA
1978	Victoria	Tasmania GC, TAS	South Australia	Kingswood GC, VIC
1977	Western Australia	Royal Perth GC, WA	New South Wales	Cottesloe GC, WA
1976			Queensland	Royal Queensland GC, QLD
1975			Queensland & Victoria	Kingston Beach GC, TAS
1974			Queensland	Ryde-Parramatta GC, NSW
1973			New South Wales	Tea Tree Gully GC, SA
1972			New South Wales	Royal Melbourne GC, VIC
1971			South Australia	Western Australian GC, WA
1970			Victoria	Gailes GC, QLD
1969			New South Wales	Kingston Beach GC, TAS
1968			NSW & Victoria	Forbes GC, NSW
1967			New South Wales	Grange GC, SA
1966			Victoria	Metropolitan GC, VIC
1965			New South Wales	Lawley GC, WA
1964			South Australia	Brisbane GC, QLD
1963			Western Australia	Claremont GC, TAS
1962			New South Wales	New South Wales GC, NSW
1961			New South Wales	Royal Adelaide GC, SA
1960			New South Wales	Long Island CC, VIC
1959			Victoria	Long Island CC, VIC
1958			Victoria	Royal Sydney GC, NSW