Date: May 02, 2012
Author: Nicole B

2012 Women’s Autumn Meeting

Final Day Thursday 3 May 2012

Today was the last day of the tournament and the weather was perfect. A little brisk for the start but seemed to fine up well. Belconnen Magpies GC & Gungahlin Lakes GC were the hosts for the teams event on the final day of play. Belconnen Magpies GC winners were the ladies from the Central Coast, Sisters Diane Soetens (26) and Merilyn Newbury (34) from Kooindah Waters GC and Sisters Rhonda Thompson (11) and Jennifer Richards (19) from Wyong GC with + 10. Second place went to the local ladies from Federal GC Jennifer Walker (22), Joanne Blackburn (28),Vicki Miers (32) and Carole Brown (31) with + 9. Winners at Gungahlin Lakes were local ladies, Coralie Amos (16) and June Osland (22) from Yowani CC and Shirley Walsh (17) and Julie Davis (27) from Belconnen Magpies GC with + 12. Second place went to more local ladies from Belconnen Magpies GC, Pat Woodbury (16), Yukie Wathelet (15), Margaret Hardy (23) and Marian Hinds (22) with + 10 on the countback to the ladies from Bayview, Coralie Amos (16), Shirley Walsh (17), Julie Davis (27) and June Osland (22). TEAMS PRIZE WINNERS

Day 3 Wednesday 2 May 2012

Day three of the Women’s Autumn Meeting was a miserable one for the 18-hole round of foursomes which were played at Belconnen Magpies GC for division one and Capital Golf Club for division two. Belconnen and Capital both saw about 70 starters at each course tee off for an 8am shotgun start. Soon after tee off the rain started but he weather didn t seem to faze Elizabeth Cussen and Kerrie Paul from Commercial Albury GC (8 ) winning the nett with a 71 . 3 behind Elizabeth and Kerrie were Yukie Wathelet and Pat Woodbury from Belconnen Magpies GC (15 ) with 74 . Scratch winner were Wollongong s mother and daughter pair Lynne Townsend and Alison Webb with 87. Sisters from Kooindah Waters, Diane Soetens and Merilyn Newbury (30) had 77 nett to win at Capital for division two. Again only 3 shots behind them Janice Turner and Christine Green (30) from Camden with 80. Lisa Bond and Pauline Hogbin, also from Camden won the scratch with 106. DIVISION ONE – FOURSOMES SCRATCH RESULTS DIVISION ONE – FOURSOMES NETT RESULTS DIVISION TWO – FOURSOMES SCRATCH RESULTS DIVISION TWO – FOURSOMES NETT RESULTS FOURSOMES PRIZE WINNERS

Annual Women&aposs Autumn Meeting Presentation Dinner – Yowani Country Club

At 6.30pm we held the annual Presentation Dinner at Yowani Country Club where all the major winners were presented with their prizes and trophies. Yowani Country Club had put on another fantastic meal and their hospitality was nothing short of fantastic. Congratulations to all the winners and we hope to see you all here again next year. DIVISION ONE – OVERALL PRIZE WINNERS DIVISION TWO – OVERALL PRIZE WINNERS DIVISION THREE – OVERALL PRIZE WINNERS

Day 2 Tuesday 1 May 2012

It was a cold and foggy morning for the start of the second and final 18-holes at the ACT Women&aposs Autumn Meeting. Today was challenging round for all divisions. With division one been played at Gold Creek GC playing some very slick greens. Queanbeyan&aposs Lauren Stensrud won the scratch with an 81 on a countback from Paige Stubbs from Federal GC. Val Holroyd from Monash GC won the daily Nett with an awesome 69 off a handicap of 14. Division Two was played at Murrumbidgee CC with Jutta Klein from Cabramatta GC winning the scratch with a 93 off the stick. Wollongong s Veronica Vlandys (28) won the daily Nett prize with a 71 on the countback from Diane Soetens (26) from Kooindah Waters GC. Gungahlin Lakes was a long and tough course for division three but it didn t seem to bother Dirkje Kingma (31) from Camden GC taking out the daily prize with 36 points. It was another tough fight for second with Judith Newell (33) winning with 33 points on a countback from Sharon Giblin (28) from Wakehurst GC. DIVISION ONE – DAY 2 SCRATCH RESULTS DIVISION ONE – DAY 2 NETT RESULTS DIVISION TWO – DAY 2 SCRATCH RESULTS DIVISION TWO – DAY 2 NETT RESULTS DIVISION THREE – DAY 2 RESULTS

Day 1 Monday 30 April 2012

It was a chilly start for the first round of the 2012 Women’s Autumn Meeting but the golf heated up pretty quickly with some good finishing scores. Brenda Chalmers (Elanora GC) has taken an early lead for division one, shooting an splendid round of 75 at Federal GC today. Three strokes behind Brenda is Royal Canberra s Liz Smyth on 78. Wakehurst s Lana Debnam and Pymble s Sandra Kimberley hold the lead for division two both shooting a round of 97 at Queanbeyan GC. Pam Barker (Bowral GC) is one stroke behind, scoring a 98 off the stick. It was a close round for division three today at Yowani CC, with Margeret Novaro (Mona Vale GC) and Wakehurst s Jenny Webb and Sharon Giblin all scoring 35 pts. Tomorrow will be a nail-biter with the final round of the 36 holes being played with a maximum of only 3 shots separating the leaders in each division. DIVISION ONE – DAY 1 SCRATCH RESULTS DIVISION ONE – DAY 1 NETT RESULTS DIVISION TWO – DAY 1 SCRATCH RESULTS DIVISION TWO – DAY 1 NETT RESULTS DIVISION THREE – DAY 1 RESULTS PRIZE WINNERS – DAY 1 Friday 27 April 2012 Monday will see 189 ladies tee off in the ACT to start off the 2012 Women&aposs Autumn Meeting. The format is stroke play over 36-holes, 18-holes on day one, and 18-holes on day two (played in three divisions), followed by 18-holes foursomes on day three, and best ball teams v par on day four. On Monday, division one will play at Federal GC, division two at Queanbeyan and Division three at Yowani CC. Good luck to all for the tournament.